We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B a la Bataille de La Fiere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B&B a la Bataille de La Fiere
Save
You added B&B a la Bataille de La Fiere to your Saves list
14 Moulin a la Fiere, 50480 Sainte-Mere-Eglise, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Pacifica, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

What a wonderful stay we had at this fantastic B+B. Vivian and Rodolphe took such great care of us. There is a vibe in the air at "La Fiere" of the WWII history that took place at this location. Todays beauty of the quiet farm fields and meadows is a far cry from what once was one of the most intense battles of the D-Day invasion.

La Bataille de La Fiere is the perfect location to explore all the local D-day sites. From the second we arrived we felt like we were visiting old friends. Even the dogs "Clohe and Vickers" gave us a warm welcome.

The location, our hosts, the rooms, the history and those wonderful breakfasts made our stay a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    12
    3
    10
    4
See reviews for
117
132
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I had never been to Normandy and had planned to spend several days there exploring all the DDay sights. At the last minute we decided to stay in one place and use it as our base to take day trips and we surely chose just the right spot! Vivian and Rodolphe Roger run a wonderful B & B that is in a very noteworthy and historical location right across the street from the Parachutist Memorial--Iron Mike watches over it! Via e-mails Vivian was most accommodating to make her place available to us for 5 nights. They are helpful and very practical hosts with a wealth of knowledge about the area and what went on around their property. We were able to see all of the rooms and they are all immaculately cared for. We were in the 82nd Airborne suite and loved it. The shower was wonderful! Coffee/tea tray in each room and access to the living/dining room when you wanted it. Their breakfast were deliciously prepared and no shortage of goodies to eat! Whenever we went out Rodolphe had suggestions on where to park, how to navigate to make the most of the daytrips and best of all, supplied us with maps. They also suggested places for us to dine each evening (that can be tricky on Sundays and Mondays!). We would highly recommend staying at B & B La Fiere!

Room Tip: They have a suite in the attic that would accommodate several people i.e. a family for instance. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Me and my father stayed at B & B La Fiere at the beginning of October, and it completed the WWII experience we were looking for. Besides being a historical site where an important battle for Normandy took place, it is also a nice place to stay. It is obvious the owners Vivian and Rodolfe have a noble quest to maintain the memory of fallen and veteran soldiers in Normandy. Their home is almost like a museum and their dogs are the sweetest! Vivian and Rodolf were very friendly and the breakfast is great. If you're lucky Vivian might make you some crepes - they're delicious :D

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We so enjoyed our recent stay in Normandy. B&B La Fiere was so comfortable and beautifully decorated in a lovely historic building. Our hosts were warm and welcoming and their breakfasts were so delicious. They love to share the history of the airborne troops who dropped into Sainte Mere Eglise right behind their property on DDay and helped to turn the tide of World War II.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I recently traveled to Normandy, a trip that I had long looked forward to. On the recommendation of a close friend I stayed at B&B LaFiere just outside of St-Mere-Eglise. I simply can't thank my friend enough, it was just perfect. The facility and the surrounding countryside are beautiful ! The owners, Vivian and Rodolphe, are a great team. They were very friendly and extremely helpful, providing historical information, making dinner reservations, and providing maps and excellent directions. It was a real pleasure to get to know them. My room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean, just the way I like it. Breakfasts were something to look forward to each morning, a great way to start a day of exploring Normandy. I particularly enjoyed spending some time in the late afternoon outside on the deck just looking at the river, the bridge, and the surrounding countryside.
I look forward to returning to Normandy and I definitely look forward to staying at B&B LaFiere again. It was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iberville, la
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I had really looked forward to our stay with the historic building and location but were sadly disappointed with the lack of welcome by Vivian. Upon arrival, we were informed that we had needed to read all the rules prior to coming and again to read the published version in each room of all six pages. My son and his fiancé had made the apparent sin of moving the twin beds together and were rewarded with a note posted to exterior of their door with no less than 6 exclamation points about the breaking of the rule of "rearranging" furniture. Rudolf seemed kind and the location was fine but beware breaking any of the rules or disagreeing with any opinions of Vivian, including the weather. We were warned no less than 5 times that we needed to close our window before we left for the day and to make sure we had turned off the lights or she would come and do it. She re-uses orange juice bottles for water in the room. The beds were hard as rocks and the rules were absurd for anyone who claims to be running a hotel or B&B. It was no way to treat a guest.

Room Tip: Do not bring any small children as there are rules against running and playing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFiere, Owner at B&B a la Bataille de La Fiere, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Our response to Lydia Jones review 1-3 Oct. 2013 (Yellow & Green rooms) :

We are always pleased to have an opportunity to share our historic home and hospitality with nice people. We have high standards and values and only ask that others respect us and our home. That is why we insist that prospective guests read and understand before asking to stay with us. As all can see, we have had some wonderful reviews by wonderful people. It seems it is not possible to reason with unreasonable people. These are the first two paragraphs of our terms and conditions.

“You have read and accepted the following before booking with us. The person booking is responsible for making sure that all in your party are informed. If anyone has a problem with any of this information, please do not book with us. We do not want any misunderstandings once you are here. We do have some reminder notes posted around the house. These are not meant to intimidate anyone. They are meant to inform and alert the unconscious. Please ask if you have questions.

We welcome you to our home, where we provide a quality bed and breakfast for paying guests. We hope that you will enjoy our facilities and treat it as you would your own home. This is not a hotel. In order to provide the best services to all of our guests, and for us to take good care of our facilities in preparation for future guests, we ask you to honor our common sense house rules.”

Then follows one full page of “house rules”. That followed by the cancellation policy. All composing two full pages. Other pages in the booklet are information including amenities. There is no specific rule for not moving the furniture. However, one would think that it is understood. We have never had guests move the furniture around before these guests. They booked one room with a double bed and other room with twin beds. The parents chose the double, but could just as well have given it to their young adult children. All of our other rooms were fully booked during the period these guests stayed here.

They did not ask if they could move the beds together or to rearrange the rug and floor standing lamps, or to put the bed side commode up and into the window ledge. They did this moving around 11 pm, as our other guests complained the next day about the noise. We found the room in this rearrangement after everyone had gone out for the day and we entered to clean the room. The guests did not return until after we had gone to bed that night, so Vivian left a note on the door asking that they please not rearrange our furniture.

The night before we had a thunderstorm with winds coming from the South. Vivian checked the windows in our room and found the rain coming in the Southside window. She asked all guests to please make sure to close their windows before going out for dinner. And yes, please check their lights. These guests had left all the lights on and windows open. This Rodolphe saw when he took the dogs out back. They did return to their rooms. They seemed surprised that I had asked them to do so.

So, now it is for our viewers to decide who is being unreasonable. Does this perspective merit giving our location less than a 5 rating? Does it mean our rooms are not clean, that we do not provide good services? They told us they slept well and they enjoyed our breakfasts. They chose to stay here after saying they had read and approved our terms and conditions. We do hope that you can read through the lines. Join our other guests who have been thrilled to stay with us. Vivian and Rodolphe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at la Bataille de La Fiere during our 20th anniversary trip to France. The B&B was beautiful. We enjoyed staying in a building built by the Vikings. That being said, our accommodations definitely were not from the Dark Ages. Our room was very modern and well appointed with a comfortable bed, kettle and coffee service, and a small table for two. The bathroom appeared to be recently renovated with a large rain shower and brightly lit vanity with plenty of storage. The common area downstairs was warm and inviting and the breakfasts were delicious complete the hot coffee, juices, fresh croissants and pastries, meats and cheeses, and Vivian’s specially prepared eggs. The eggs were the bomb! She shared the recipe with my wife and I and we now make them for ourselves at home; we call them “des oeuf de La Fiere.”

The area is steeped in history. Right outside the door is the La Fiere bridge, the site of the initial battle of the D-day invasion. Just across the street is the statue of “Iron Mike,” a memorial to the brave paratroopers that fought there. The grounds and the surrounding area of the B&B are beautiful and idyllic. There is a lovely area next to the bridge where you can sit and enjoy a picnic, a glass of wine, or just enjoy the scenery. It’s sobering to think that 70 years ago these quiet, pastoral grounds were the bloody battlefields for freedom. Inside the B&B you can enjoy the rich history of the area. Rodolphe and Vivian have gone to great lengths to document the locale. They have a small “library” of information for you to enjoy in the warm comfort of the great room. They love to share their knowledge of the invasion and the experiences of those involved both American and French.

Rodolphe and Vivian were very warm and hospitable. My wife and I planned our tour of the historical sites and mentioned our plans for a possible picnic. Vivian was very kind and provided us with a picnic basket complete with plates, silverware, glasses, and directions to the local market. Rodolphe made recommendations and restaurant reservations at Le John Steele, which was outstanding. They offered their assistance in planning our tour through Normandy by providing maps, highlighting points of interest, and offering tips and suggestions. They helped us to organize our days, which allowed us to maximize our time and not miss any sites.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Vivian and Rodolphe (and the dogs too!) and look forward to returning on our next trip to Normandy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B a la Bataille de La Fiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B a la Bataille de La Fiere

Address: 14 Moulin a la Fiere, 50480 Sainte-Mere-Eglise, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Sainte-Mere-Eglise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing la fiere bridge crossing the merderet river, our bed and breakfast is the converted ww2 barn where the battle of Normandy began on 6 June 1944!! Located in the triangle of the three designated 82nd Airborne Division drop zones, 3km due west of Ste. Mère-Eglise, and 15km from Utah Beach in Normandy, France. Originally a grain mill built in 1180. Now, a quality guest home providing five guest bedrooms and American-French breakfast. We are NOT a HOTEL!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast a La Bataille De La Fiere
b&b a La Bataille De La Fiere Hotel Sainte-Mere-Eglise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B a la Bataille de La Fiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.