We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant in a lovely setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Pacheline

La Pacheline
28, quai Antonin Gros, 34340 Marseillan, France
+33 4 67 09 40 17
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 49 Restaurants in Marseillan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $18 - $39
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Mediterranean, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Sur les quais authentiques du petit port de Marseillan, une degustation des tresors locaux, un moment privilegie.
Valley du Loir
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in a lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

There are lots of restaurants overlooking the pretty port, of which this is one. We arrived at 12 and luckily managed to get a table. We saw many people get turned away. I had oysters followed by monkfish and prawn kebab and my husband had roast camembert à la provencale followed by grilled baby octopus. Everything was tasty and fresh and the service was excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    86
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Simply superb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

During four days in Marseillan we ate at La Pacheline twice, after a recommendation. Fantastically fresh seafood, served simply without fuss and really great value. Would rate as five stars for more variety and better service, but guess that's how they keep the prices down.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseillan, France
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Probably the best in Marseillan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

If you're in Marseillan you must like seafood, if you like seafood choose the Pacheline, it's the best of the restaurants on the quay. Nice setting, fresh fish, the mixed fish dish for two is really great good. A great place for an informal lunch.
Only gripe is that because they're always busy it sometimes takes an age to get served. That apart highly recommendable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice option for eating in Marseillan port”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We chose to go here on our last day, having packed up our house, so it was lovely to sit looking out at the sunny port and enjoy our last few Marseillan hours.
The food at the Pacheline is a bit different from some of the other port restaurants. We had freshly shucked oysters ( cold and very good) both followed by grilled fish which came with a veg melange and polenta - a nice change from chips or rice.

We chose two courses from the day's set menu, which was excellent value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Seafood and Fresh Oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Wonderful little restaurant on the small harbour of Marseillan. Great place to watch the sunset with someone special. Food is superb. All is fresh and tasty. It is easy to consume dozens of oysters and clams. All is fresh from the Etang du Thau.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pacheline also viewed

Marseillan, Herault
 
Marseillan, Herault
Marseillan, Herault
 

Been to La Pacheline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pacheline, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.