We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel right in the heart of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Hotel Marseillan

Save Saved
You added Petit Hotel Marseillan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Petit Hotel Marseillan
5, Boulevard Lamartine, 34340 Marseillan, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Marseillan B&B and Inns
London,UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel right in the heart of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hosts were very nice and the hotel was spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were lovely with fresh fruit salad, baguette, croissants, cold meats and cheese. When I asked if there was any apricot jam the owner went and bought some which I thought was excellent customer service. We also got great advice for days out and the owners arranged a massage for us at the hotel.

There were only two things that I thought
1) Plastic pillow protectors are cheap for a hotel at this level. I woke up half way through the first night to find my head in a pool of sweat, lo and behold I discovered the pillow protectors below the pillow case were plastic. We use pillow protectors at home that are made of cotton, they need washing once a month and the hotel should change to cotton ones. The human body emits 30% of its heat through the head, plastic is not harmonious!

The hotel is owned by a lovely German couple and the hotel is set up to be a German home from home. If the owners want to appeal more to English couples I would recommend:
1) Automatically putting English/American style pillows in rooms for those guests. The hotel only needs a few for those visitors. Massive square German pillows are fairly unique to only a few countries now. Having travelled the world I cannot think of any 4or 5* hotels that do not automatically put English/American pillows in rooms for guests of those nationalities.
2) A 9:00 to 9:30 breakfast slot is a little tight!
3) With light curtains and no blinds it was very light in our room from sunrise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit_Hotel_Me, Owner at Petit Hotel Marseillan, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for your advice on the pillows and the shudders. You are the first of all our english and american guests in the last 4 seasons that brought that up and it is certainly a valuable improvement.The breakfast slot I must have explained wrong - 9 to 9:30 AM is the peek time for starting breakfast, all our guests can enjoy as long as they wish their breakfast . When given notice like late afternoon or early evening we certainly do early breakfasts or late ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
57
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just returned after 11 nights at the Petit Hotel. We were only supposed to stay four nights but after a mishap with our onward destination leaving us practically stranded Birgid did what she does best and without fuss took care of everything,arranging for us to stay on. This is our second time here and we have grown so very fond of Birgid and Peter. They not only allow you into their wonderful home but also into their lives and make you feel like a family friend. We shared many meals and wine together. These memories will remain with us always. Thank you for all you did for us.

Room Tip: All lovely but we particularly like the top two
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit_Hotel_Me, Inhaber at Petit Hotel Marseillan, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
thank you so much for staying with us and for that splendid review. We really did enjoy your company. Take care and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Petit Hotel is a beautiful, relaxing place with wonderful hosts. This house is immaculately renovated and we really enjoyed our stay. The beds and room was very comfortable. All the restaurant recommendations were excellent and being in the centre of Marseillan means eating out is all very easy. The hosts are willing to help with anything and nothing is too much trouble. We had a fab time sailing on the Etang which Birgitte arranged. Thanks you so much for a great time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit_Hotel_Me, Inhaber at Petit Hotel Marseillan, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
thank you so much for your review. We really enjoyed having you as guests in our place. wish you a good summer with lots of sailing and hope we see each other again one day. Best, Birgit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our 4 day stay was akin to visiting a well appointed private house rather than a hotel. A place where you arrive as strangers and leave as friends. Our room (Laurier) was very comfortable with its own outside private terrace on the same level as the breakfast terrace. Although Laurier is immediately adjacent to the heart of the house (the open plan inside dining/lounge/kitchen) it was perfectly acceptable despite its closeness to the 'house traffic' and the super comfortable king size bed and excellent top of the range bathroom fittings were all that we could have wished for. From the street this hotel looks small with the ground floor taken up mostly by the internal garage. The inside space on the above floors two floors is adequate and no more but the stylish decor and large outside breakfast terrace & lovely pool below help to create an up market house party feel which the owners Birgit & Peter effortlessly encourage. This hotel is all about the owners particularly Birgit who is a first class 'front of house' ably supported by Peter. Our memories like I suspect most of those who have posted the glowing reviews in the past will stay with us more because of them than the property itself nice though it is. A lot of effort goes into the healthy tasty breakfast and I for one would not want to prepare the finely chopped fresh fruit salad every morning for potentially 10 guests. We were lucky that the weather was great for the whole stay but there is so much to do in the area and Birgit and Peter so keen to point you in the right direction, should you need help, that a stay in this charming uncommercialised town is well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit_Hotel_Me, Inhaber at Petit Hotel Marseillan, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. We feel very fortunate that you did like your stay with us. Hope we are getting a chance to host you again. Best wishes, Birgit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Birgit and Peter really did go the extra mile to make our stay a memorable one especially as the weather was not at its best when we visited. The couple provide an environment that makes you relax and they are very knowledgable about the area in terms of recommending where to go and excursions you can take to make the most out of your stay. Their passion for what they do really did shine through.
The accommodation is lovely and you really are made to feel at home.
The breakfasts were superb and I still think about them some three months after the visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit_Hotel_Me, Inhaber at Petit Hotel Marseillan, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your friendly review. We are looking forward to host you again - in much better weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

all the other reviews say it's excellent and they are right.

good location, facilities, friendly people and good service, great value for money.

The sun in the morning was a little too bright.

The pool was little too warm.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit_Hotel_Me, Inhaber at Petit Hotel Marseillan, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
thanks for this, I really do appreciate it. I'll promise next time I will put some puckets of icecubes in the pool ...Wish you well and hope to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We spent a week at this lovely hotel and can truly say that it was the most welcoming hotel we have ever stayed in. Birgit and Peter are amazing hosts and work hard to ensure their guests are well looked after. The hotel is exceptionally clean and our room was lovely and very quiet. The pool area is superb, with a 14m heated pool for swimming and an honesty bar nearby where you will find a range of soft drinks and wine in the fridge. The breakfast was delicious and as everyone else has mentioned a perfect start to the day.

There is lots to do and see around the area and we particularly enjoyed our visits to Sete and Montpelier. Thanks again Birgit for ferrying us around and to Peter for taking us to the airport when our bus didn't turn up. We will be back!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit_Hotel_Me, Inhaber at Petit Hotel Marseillan, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We enjoyed you as guests a lot and it has been a real pleasure having such good company on my exploring tours. We dearly hope beeing able to welcome you again in pittoresque Marseillan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Petit Hotel Marseillan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Hotel Marseillan

Address: 5, Boulevard Lamartine, 34340 Marseillan, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Marseillan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marseillan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petit Hotel is a charmingly restored villa that was originally a winery built in 1810. It consists of five guest rooms each with individual atmosphere. Open kitchen/breakfast/lounge area, two large sun terraces, the one on the ground floor with a heated 14m long swimmingpool and summer kitchen/BBQ. Each room has balcony or terrace, carefully selected furnishings, TV, airconditioning/heating, comfortable beds, bathroom with underfloor heating, Italian shower and WC, HighSpeed WiFi throughout. All interior areas are non-smoking, pets on request. Garage parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Petit Hotel Marseillan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Hotel Marseillan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.