We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time tasting chowder, fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pike Place Chowder

Pike Place Chowder
1530 Post Alley, Seattle, WA 98101 (Downtown)
206-267-2537
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 3,492 Restaurants in Seattle
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery
Neighborhood: Downtown
Raymore, Missouri
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“First time tasting chowder, fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was the first time I had ever had clam chowder. We tasted it during our Seattle Bites Food Tour and decided we had to go back for lunch. The clam chowder was great and I would definitely get that again. The crab roll was ok, to much mayo or something. It wasn't bad, I just wouldn't get it again. I would, however, go back for the clam chowder, every day if I could.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    796
    377
    75
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

you would be hard pressed to find better chowder on the planet. This coming from a culinary grad. Its been around for ever and that speaks alot when its really just a chowder spot. Fresh clams daily. So if your looking to try NW chowder this is the place. to go kids,

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Burke, Vermont
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not fancy but excellent chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is basically a fast-food hole in the wall: stand in line, order chowder which is served on plastic trays in paper cups. But, wow! great chowder. We only tried the New England clam chowder (they have a lot of other interesting combinations), but it was some of the best we had ever had. And reasonably priced, which is a rarity in the mostly over-priced Pike's Market.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Alright but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Located in the center of things in Pike Place market, this is a busy little place. There isn't much seating ( especially on a cold blustery day). The service was OK. We had two different types of chowder and found them to be alright but I certainly wouldn't rate it as excellent. I have had chowder as good or better in many other places ( I can't compare to other chowder places in Seattle though)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great! small! great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Great taste.
Small restaurant.
Great value.

I went with my wife and two daughters and they all loved it.

The space was nice and cozy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Pike Place Chowder also viewed

 

Been to Pike Place Chowder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pike Place Chowder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.