We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OH MY GOSH!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beecher's Handmade Cheese

Beecher's Handmade Cheese
1600 Pike Place, Seattle, WA 98101 (Pike Place Market)
(206) 956-1964
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 3,563 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: Pike Place Market
Shreveport, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“OH MY GOSH!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Do not miss this place. It's cool to see the cheese being made. It smells marvelous. It tastes delicious. This is what Cheese should taste like. You can ask for free samples of any flavor. They have a deli area for lunch. There was a line, but it moved quickly and we were in and out with several flavors of cheese. Don't miss the cheese curds. OH MY GOSH. Delicious

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    248
    68
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cool cheese factory right in the heart of Pike Place Market”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This place was really interesting to visit. We got to check out how cheese is made right there in the restaurant. As you feast on their homemade curds or decadent macaroni and cheese, you can watch as the cheese makers sift through the curd piles or clean the curd tubs. There's lots of neat cheese-related items to purchase. Fresh cheese, assorted spreads, and their famous macaroni and cheese.

I tried their mac and cheese, and I just realized after my last few reviews of Seattle restaurants that I found a lot of the dishes I tried in Seattle to be too "salty". The same goes for this macaroni and cheese...I just thought it was wayyyyy too salty. I don't know...maybe as I get older, I'm finding everything saltier than usual. Try the macaroni and cheese because of the great reviews on here about it. I'm pretty sure you'll like it. I took 4 bites and I was done...couldn't handle any more because of how salty I thought it tasted.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Delish American Cheese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Beecher's generous with their sampling of cheeses. Try their mac n cheese(esp their duo cheese of reg & spicy). It's certainly not your usual out of the box kind of cheese. You can taste the freshness & creaminess. If you're planning to buy some cheeses home, get them from the airport. There's Beecher's in the Alaska Terminal Gate C. Definitely a most try when you're at Pike Market.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“cheese,chese,chese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Nice tourist stop, you can appreciate how cheese is made,take time to go to all the other litte store around ,you will have a good time !!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
“Truly the best cheese (and mac and cheese!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

If you're visiting the cafe you really need to try the Mac and Cheese, the creamiest and most flavorful I've ever had. But besides this all the cheese is delightful on its own. Obviously try the flagship and anything else you can get your hands on. Beecher's is a true Seattle gem and being from the area I feel so lucky to always have access to it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beecher's Handmade Cheese also viewed

 

Been to Beecher's Handmade Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beecher's Handmade Cheese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.