We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classic in the City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pensione Nichols B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pensione Nichols B&B to your Saves list
Pensione Nichols B&B
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1923 1st Ave., Seattle, WA 98101 (Pike Place Market)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 36 Seattle B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A classic in the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I've stayed at the Pensione Nichols on and off for years - I even rented the entire place for my wedding nearly 20 years ago. (the marriage was a flop, but people are still talking about the wedding itself!)

I love the warm, European, lived-in feel to the Pensione - if I wanted to stay at a bland, generic hotel, I would!

I always meet someone interesting at the breakfast table in the morning - travelers from all over the world gather and enjoy a quiet morning with a spectacular view of the Sound. It's simply one of my favorite places in Seattle. I live here now, but sometimes I just wander in to say hello and take in the sights. It's always a comfy place to land.

Highly recommend if you're looking for an experience that's different than any other you'll find here.

Room Tip: I love the suites if you can swing it, but I'm not all that choosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kim t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We enjoyed a very relaxing staycation at this cosy little place, which was highly recommended to us by out-of town friends who crashed there for the night.

Welcoming, accommodating staff and Theo the dog too. Our beds were clean and comfy with nice big pillows. No issues with the shared bath but I will remember to bring some bubble bath next time so I can soak in the claw-foot tub for a few =) Breakfast was tasty and coffee delicious, just right to get us on our way.

We wanted to be close to the theater and dining and not worry about the drive home. This spot was perfect. Felt like coming home after a wonderful evening out. Definitely recommending to other friends & family.

Room Tip: The inside room was plenty big enough and pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serviette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Most travelers agree that the Pike Place Market is the heart and soul of Seattle. Pensione Nichols then is the perfect lodging complement to Pike Place – delightfully quirky, full of unexpected charms, a celebration of the best Seattle has to offer. The view from the main living/dining area and from the apartments has to be one of the best in town - from the quaint cobbled layout of the Market literally right beneath you to the ferry glide vistas of Elliott Bay, Puget Sound and all the way out to the soaring Olympic Mountains halfway to the Pacific. There’s a sense of calm throughout the space. Traveler’s tend to speak in hushed tones and tread quietly through the European style common areas – a reference to the tranquility the place inspires. Lindsey, the life-long Seattleite who orchestrates all of this, is full of suggestions and “Market-insider” tips on the best places to dine, shop and just explore.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We are staying at the Pensione Nichols in Seattle Washington for the first time. We have found it to be a most pleasant experience here. The best location, right up the street from the pike place market and shopping. Great breakfasts and the owner, Lindsay, is here most days with her dog Theo to greet clients and answer any questions, she even made us dinner reservations. The place is extremely clean and well run! We are now planning on coming back here every year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Wow...this place is awful, a disappointment beyond belief. Do NOT stay in apt #12! Stained carpets, patched walls with mismatched paint, filthy kitchen, and totally misrepresented pictures. Light bulbs missing, worn out velvet furniture from the 60s? Think twice before staying here...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

It is an absolute treat to stay at the Pensione Nichols! Prime location, steps away from Pike Street Market and the waterfront. The main room has one of the most incredible views in Seattle and is so cozy to enjoy sipping on coffee in the morning. I would highly recommend for it's ambiance and amenities❤

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I wanted to review the B&B, Pensione Nichols to tell other travelers of our wonderful experience over my five night stay there. I woke up to a delicious continental breakfast with fresh fruit served every morning in a spacious living-room with a sweeping panorama of the breathtaking Seattle Sound. This living-room is astounding! I couldn't dream up a more wonderful and fascinating place to relax at any point of the day or night, well appointed with an antique grand piano, beautiful prints on the walls, large heavily stuffed leather couches, and other curios and antiques. Every interesting curio and antique has an entertaining story behind it, which the proprietor, Lindsey, is glad to tell.

My favorite part was the gorgeous claw-footed extra-large antique bathtub which Lindsey saved from a historic building marked for demolition. I had a relaxing hot bath in it every night I spent there. I'm six foot three inches tall and I could stretch all the way out in it. (Tall travelers take note.) There was never a lack of hot water, which connoisseurs of B&B's may know is not to be taken for granted.

The hosts are kind, welcoming, attentive to detail, conversational, and a pleasure to be around. They are helpful with all questions, directions, and requests.

Another advantage is that Pensione Nichols is centrally located in downtown Seattle, sitting on the very edge of the historic Pikes Public Market. Of course, this makes it within a short walk of most downtown attractions.

I do not have a single regret or complaint about the Pensione Nichols. I plan and look forward to staying there many times in the future.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dokjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 99 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 stars 2,128 reviews
Mayflower Park
#19 of 99 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 1,702 reviews
Hotel 1000
#2 of 99 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#7 of 99 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Nichols B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Nichols B&B

Address: 1923 1st Ave., Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pike Place Market
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensione Nichols B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pensione Nichols is Seattle's only downtown Bed and Breakfast located in the world famous Pike Place Market. European feel with Seattle style and a breathtaking view of Puget Sound and the Pike Place Market, Pensione Nichols is steps away from all the major attractions guests come to Seattle to see and experience. Family owned and operated since 1989 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pensione Nichols B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Nichols Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing