We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy bed, friendly people, amazing location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pensione Nichols

Save Saved
You added Pensione Nichols to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pensione Nichols
1923 1st Ave., Seattle, WA 98101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pike Place Market B&B
Ranked #22 of 37 Seattle B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cosy bed, friendly people, amazing location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We enjoyed a very relaxing staycation at this cosy little place, which was highly recommended to us by out-of town friends who crashed there for the night.

Welcoming, accommodating staff and Theo the dog too. Our beds were clean and comfy with nice big pillows. No issues with the shared bath but I will remember to bring some bubble bath next time so I can soak in the claw-foot tub for a few =) Breakfast was tasty and coffee delicious, just right to get us on our way.

We wanted to be close to the theater and dining and not worry about the drive home. This spot was perfect. Felt like coming home after a wonderful evening out. Definitely recommending to other friends & family.

Room Tip: The inside room was plenty big enough and pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    40
    12
    12
    12
See reviews for
17
67
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Most travelers agree that the Pike Place Market is the heart and soul of Seattle. Pensione Nichols then is the perfect lodging complement to Pike Place – delightfully quirky, full of unexpected charms, a celebration of the best Seattle has to offer. The view from the main living/dining area and from the apartments has to be one of the best in town - from the quaint cobbled layout of the Market literally right beneath you to the ferry glide vistas of Elliott Bay, Puget Sound and all the way out to the soaring Olympic Mountains halfway to the Pacific. There’s a sense of calm throughout the space. Traveler’s tend to speak in hushed tones and tread quietly through the European style common areas – a reference to the tranquility the place inspires. Lindsey, the life-long Seattleite who orchestrates all of this, is full of suggestions and “Market-insider” tips on the best places to dine, shop and just explore.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We are staying at the Pensione Nichols in Seattle Washington for the first time. We have found it to be a most pleasant experience here. The best location, right up the street from the pike place market and shopping. Great breakfasts and the owner, Lindsay, is here most days with her dog Theo to greet clients and answer any questions, she even made us dinner reservations. The place is extremely clean and well run! We are now planning on coming back here every year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Wow...this place is awful, a disappointment beyond belief. Do NOT stay in apt #12! Stained carpets, patched walls with mismatched paint, filthy kitchen, and totally misrepresented pictures. Light bulbs missing, worn out velvet furniture from the 60s? Think twice before staying here...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

It is an absolute treat to stay at the Pensione Nichols! Prime location, steps away from Pike Street Market and the waterfront. The main room has one of the most incredible views in Seattle and is so cozy to enjoy sipping on coffee in the morning. I would highly recommend for it's ambiance and amenities❤

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I wanted to review the B&B, Pensione Nichols to tell other travelers of our wonderful experience over my five night stay there. I woke up to a delicious continental breakfast with fresh fruit served every morning in a spacious living-room with a sweeping panorama of the breathtaking Seattle Sound. This living-room is astounding! I couldn't dream up a more wonderful and fascinating place to relax at any point of the day or night, well appointed with an antique grand piano, beautiful prints on the walls, large heavily stuffed leather couches, and other curios and antiques. Every interesting curio and antique has an entertaining story behind it, which the proprietor, Lindsey, is glad to tell.

My favorite part was the gorgeous claw-footed extra-large antique bathtub which Lindsey saved from a historic building marked for demolition. I had a relaxing hot bath in it every night I spent there. I'm six foot three inches tall and I could stretch all the way out in it. (Tall travelers take note.) There was never a lack of hot water, which connoisseurs of B&B's may know is not to be taken for granted.

The hosts are kind, welcoming, attentive to detail, conversational, and a pleasure to be around. They are helpful with all questions, directions, and requests.

Another advantage is that Pensione Nichols is centrally located in downtown Seattle, sitting on the very edge of the historic Pikes Public Market. Of course, this makes it within a short walk of most downtown attractions.

I do not have a single regret or complaint about the Pensione Nichols. I plan and look forward to staying there many times in the future.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great location for a downtown Seattle experience -- right smack in the middle of great shopping and some of our favorite restaurants and pubs. Felt right at home as soon as we met Lindsey, the concierge -- was like coming to see an old friend. Room was delightful overlooking the street and reminiscent of being at my grandparents as a kid -- everything was comfy, cozy. Then a lovely continental breakfast with a bowl of fresh cut fruit right from Pike Place Market, great coffee (French press) and a variety of toasts plus a lovely view of Puget Sound. We'll be back for longer stays.

Room Tip: We loved ours overlooking the street in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pensione Nichols? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Nichols

Address: 1923 1st Ave., Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown , Pike Place Market
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pensione Nichols reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Nichols Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensione Nichols, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.