We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than Grandma's house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chelsea Station to your Saves list
Chelsea Station
4915 Linden Ave N, Seattle, WA 98103   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
December Savings
Ranked #3 of 37 Seattle B&B and Inns
Edmonds, Washington
1 review
“Even better than Grandma's house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We've made a yearly tradition of staying at Chelsea Station during the holiday season, even though it is only 10 miles from our home. Our friends ask why would stay so close to home instead of getting of town (which we do often), so I try to explain to them that if other B&Bs are macaroni and cheese, this place is macaroni and cheese with four kinds of real cheese, ham, AND bacon. There are so many nice little touches that make our stay so special that I think we would just live there if possible. Beautiful, warm décor with all the modern amenities added without taking away from the coziness. Great location with easy access to downtown Seattle, Ballard, Woodland Park, and you don't even need a car. Of all the vacations we take each year, this is the shortest, but by far the one we talk about and look forward to the most. There may be some places that are less expensive, but Chelsea Station is definitely the best value. Charles and Bonney, thank you for looking after all the little details that make it such a joy to spend time here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
108
166
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Everett, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is our second time staying and we will definitely return. The room is warm and inviting with every possible comfort readily available. The breakfast is delicious. The innkeepers are friendly and accommodating. We were surprised by delicious fresh made treats in our room each afternoon. We were left a complimentary bottle of wine which they gladly changed for sparkling cider since we aren't drinkers. They definitely go the extra mile to make you feel at home. The pantry area is stocked with beverages and snacks that you can enjoy anytime. The room has an espresso machine which made the leisurely mornings that much more pleasant. Chelsea Station is close to everything you can possibly want to do in and around Seattle. Comfort, elegance, peace & quiet, pure enjoyment! We just can't say enough good things about Chelsea Station Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I work in Seattle several weeks a year and am quite happy to have found Chelsea Station. The location is excellent, I'm in my mid fifties and not in such great shape but found it easy to walk to some of the best neighborhoods in Seattle--neighborhoods where it is frequently difficult or impossible to park. For those that know Seattle, Chelsea Station is pretty much equidistant from Upper Fremont, Wallingford and Phinney Ridge. Green Lake, is also not a terribly long walk. Also a great location for driving since it is about the first place where you can get on and off Aurora where you want. I found parking to be a breeze and was able to park in front of the inn almost every night. As other's have mentioned, the accommodations are very nice, the pictures don't really capture the big bedroom windows which I thought was a big plus. I'd have to say the well stocked pantry is a downside, I'm afraid that the Hagen daas ice cream bars, nice chocolate and extensive drink selection put several pounds on me. Another thing that was really nice for me was the espresso machine in the kitchen.

The only down sides, I really wish there had been a desk in the living room. Since I'm on business, I really could have used the place to spread my work out. Also, if you're looking for a place to socialize, this isn't it. But I socialize all day at work and in the evenings I really just want someplace quiet to unwind. Chelsea Station is ideal for that.

Room Tip: I suspect first floor rooms could be a bit noisy if the inn is full. I had a second floor room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

WOW is the word. We had a wonderful and relaxing stay for my husband's birthday trip. The inn is beautiful, spacious and kept wonderfully full of delightful treats! Every morning we had exquisite breakfasts brought to our door and every afternoon after a day of exploring, we had a cozy place to rest our weary feet and enjoy the wine and goodies. We had an "oops" moment with our reservation and Marina made sure all worked out smoothly! They even put a bottle of champagne on the table for the birthday celebration! Comfortable, classy, relaxing and thoughtful are all words to describe this elegant b & b. We loved not having to pack our robes! Lots of places to explore near the inn and the bus stop to downtown is only a block away. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room #1 was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Honestly, I could not have thought of a single thing these inn-keepers could have done differently or better. We're particular about the places we stay and this property was spot on. Spacious, well designed, nice decor, comfortable, hospitable (great, but non intrusive service), wonderful breakfasts and on and on. If you want to be in the thick of things, well, this place isn't, but it's in a very walkable, nice area and you can walk a mile or so into the University District, a shorter hike up to Green Lake, go to the Zoo a block away and really enjoy the neighborhood feel of Seattle. Kudos to the owners for thinking of everything and then some. If I was forced to find a downside, it's simply that the bed is queen sized vs. king, if that's important to a traveler.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have stayed in quite a few B&B type places over the years and found Chelsea Station to be among the very best. The accommodations are fantastic of course, with a spacious living room area, perfect dining table for two, elegant bathroom and comfortable bed. But the real differentiator was the incredibly thoughtful way that the innkeepers go about serving their guests.

Upon arrival, I knew something different was going on when we found our room assignment in a hand written note on the front door. Email instructions sent prior gave us the access code for entry so we just walked right in without having any arduous check in process. As we went upstairs to the suite, the door was open, the lights were on and soft music was playing. Our keys were sitting on the table next to a custom breakfast order sheet that you turn in downstairs to a small box. Being able to just walk in like we lived there was so relaxing and comfortable that I was immediately at ease.

We had specified a gluten free diet in our reservation and I had not thought much of it, figuring that the breakfast options would be modified. We were surprised and delighted to find fresh baked gluten free cookies waiting for us upon arrival and other GF snacks in the kitchen. This polite and thoughtful gesture was so unexpected that we both knew we had come to the right place.

Every morning, breakfast was served to our suite exactly when we specified and our dietary requests honored without compromising any kind of food quality! Quite frankly, the breakfast was amazing. Even though we didn’t note it on our card, the innkeepers would bring up a pot of French press coffee, just in case we wanted one. Again, really showing their thoughtful and genuine nature.

This place invokes a sense of calm that is extremely pleasant. From the wine service downstairs to the spacious and private rooms, there is simply no better place to spend time in the Seattle area.

Tips:

The innkeepers communicate via email very professionally and provide important information through that method, so being able to check your email on the go is a must.

The building is a classic piece of local architecture, and has apparently been completely remodeled, but the floors did squeak quite a bit and I felt bad for those on the bottom floor. As a result, I would recommend a top floor suite (#3 or #4).

While the innkeepers thoughtfully provide snacks and wine in the pantry, there are no upscale dining options within walking distance. Local menus are provided in the suite, however, so you can plan accordingly.

There are two parking spaces available for guests, but four suites. Street parking can be a bit tight sometimes so it pays to get there a bit early if possible.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklinton, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I don't even know where to start my praise of this wonderful Inn! The comfortable and tasteful decor with huge closets and a beautiful bathroom? The half bath was very convenient. Super comfy everything from the towels and robes to the linens on the bed. With only 4 guest suites you will be pampered. Suites? More like luxury apartments. Heaven.
Cookies and chocolates were on our dining room table upon our arrival with soft jazz and NPR tuned in on our stereo. We felt like we just came home and should kick our shoes off, grab a drink from the fridge with some cheese and crackers and flop on the couch in the living room to catch the game.
We stayed 11/11-11/13/13 and we didn't want to leave to go back home to NC. Was it because of Seattle or the Inn? We weren't sure...
Breakfast (pick your size!) was fantastic and they made every effort to cater to our whims -Earl Grey? Decaf French Press? No eggs but toast and a bit of yogurt? Done. The stocked pantry downstairs was awesome. Lots of nibbles! We liked the convenience of our kitchen. Sometimes you just want a cup of tea in your pajamas at 11pm. Just like home. Laurie, our host, was attentive, friendly and so helpful. We felt like we were staying with old friends.
The Inn is very convenient to the bus and even though we rented a car we never had need for it since the bus went right into town. We enjoyed our Seattle trip and one of the best parts was coming home to our apartment each night. The neighborhood is charming. We are so glad we did not stay in the city.
So the short of it: you simply must stay here when you come to Seattle.

Room Tip: All 4 apartments are nearly identical. 2 up and 2 down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Station

Address: 4915 Linden Ave N, Seattle, WA 98103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle’s most elegant and comfortable little Inn, Chelsea Station Inn B&B has penthouse sized lodging at a very accommodating price. Enjoy approximately 900 square feet in each suite with full sized living room, dining room, powder room, kitchen and deluxe master suite in each of our four suites. To spend a night or a week at "Chelsea" is to be surrounded by a world of luxury not commonly found at this price point. A beautiful breakfast is served to your room every morning by our highly professional staff. We provide wine daily as well as micro brews, juices, sparkling water, cheese, yogurt and granola all for free 24 hours per day. We understand vegan, vegetarian, salt free, and gluten free diets. And we are walking distance to Green Lake and the Zoo, as well as the Fremont, Phinney Ridge, and Wallingford neighborhoods. And we are a quick drive into the city on a direct line to the Seattle Center, Safeco Field and Century Link Field and the University of Washington. This is "the one" if you want large gracious suites, a great location, countless amenities without charge all provided in a beautiful historic Seattle building built by one of Seattle's most famous builders of the period. Please be our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Chelsea Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Station Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.