We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing one bedroom apartment to yourself with great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Station

Save Saved
You added Chelsea Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chelsea Station
4915 Linden Ave N, Seattle, WA 98103   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Savings
Ranked #3 of 37 Seattle B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing one bedroom apartment to yourself with great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved staying here. The service was exceptional, the food and drinks plentiful, the breakfast delicious, and the suite luxurious. I really cannot recommend it enough.
Thank you for a great stay right after our house emergency! This is a great location -- in our own city!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    287
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
95
146
15
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Given the inn's reviews I had high expectations. They were not met. The value is not worth the price. To keep it short and simple...

Pros: Large space with multiple rooms, a stocked fridge with adult beverages, close to express bus stop

Cons: Located next to a busy road that's loud, broken soap dispenser and shower controls in the bathroom, air conditioner only in bedroom, would not accommodate an early breakfast (had an early tour), very slow wifi

This is not your typical B&B. The owners do not live there. Breakfast is served in your room and you clear your own dishes. It's a lovely house, just not what I expected.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This bed & breakfast lived up to the expectations based on reviews at Trip Advisor. As soon as I walked in the door I said, "I'm home." The owner and staff have taken into account everything you might need in a b&b without hovering over you and having to mingle with other guests. While that approach is typical of most b&b's, it was a refreshing change of pace to have privacy and room to spread out. The apartment is decorated in a modern, clean style that is very pleasing. The bed was comfortable and homey. The gourmet breakfasts delivered to your room were picture perfect and tasty. The neighborhood was lovely and within walking distance to some terrific restaurants. We greatly appreciated the snack pantry, cold beverages and wine in the afternoon.

The only downside is lack of someone available to chat with to regarding travel questions in the city. There were no recycling bins in the room so we just kept putting them in the dirty dishes bin in the hallway and hoped someone would recycle them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Chelsea Station Inn. The people who run this place really know what they are doing. They have created a very high standard of accommodation with spacious and extremely well decorated suites. We got to meet one of the owners (Marina) and the one of the Inn Keepers (Lori) and they couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome.

So what are the downsides? Firstly the air-conditioning is woefully inadequate. If the weather is hot (which it was when we visited during the second half of August) you have a choice or either sweltering in the heat or using the air-conditioning which will result in a wintery blast of cold air every few minutes. Unfortunately, the proximity to a pretty busy road meant that we did not want to leave the window open. I should add that, given Seattle's weather, this may not be an issue for most potential guests.

The location is not a downside if you want to confine your stay to Northern Seattle. You have the Zoo and the top three Trip Advisor restaurants in Seattle are all within walking distance. However, if you have only a limited amount of time for your visit and want to do downtown Seattle, you might want to consider a hotel nearer to the centre.

Finally. the Chelsea Station Inn is not cheap. Yes you get a great breakfast and a very generous selection of drinks and snacks but do check that you couldn't be getting a better deal nearer to Seattle.

Overall, I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this Inn. It thoroughly deserves a 5 Star rating and you will have a great stay. However, do your homework before booking.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at Chelsea Station for 3 nights, and it was a terrific experience. Upon arriving, there was ample street parking, and the property was well maintained from the outside. One of the owners was outside and greeted us as we were pulling up. On the front door there was an envelope with our name, and keys to our suite (#3 - more on that momentarily). Each room has 2 entrances, a front and a back. We headed up the front entrance to check out our room, and it was amazing. The living room featured a pullout couch and seating for ~6 people. There was a TV/DVD player, and a Netflix player in the living room, along with various books/magazines on traveling in the area. Onto the dining room, we had some cookies waiting for us. The dining room can seat 4 comfortably. There was a printed out sheet with some answers to frequently asked questions and important info (breakfast instructions, Taxi info, etc,etc). There is a 1/2 bath off the dining room. From the dining room we made our way into the kitchen. The kitchen had a coffee pot ready to go (just had to press the button to start brewing!), as well as a french press for coffee, a microwave, a tea kettle, wine fridge, cups/silverware/etc. The kitchen was really beautiful. From here we made our way into the bedroom. The bed was very comfortable, and the AC Unit is mounted in the bedroom. There was also a spare box fan which we setup in the living room. The main bath was right outside the bedroom. It had a shower with 2 shower heads and was fairly spacious. All appliances were modern and overall everything was extremely clean. There is a complimentary fridge on the lower level which is stocked with all sorts of goodies. Various soft drinks, juices, water, several craft beer selections, cheeses, a freezer with ice cream, and various types of cookies and other snacks were nearby as well.

Location: We were pleased with the location. It was extremely close to the zoo, and walking distance to several good restaurants on Fremont Street. It's a ~15 minute drive from downtown, or roughly $20 via Taxi.

Additional: Unlike your traditional B&B, you don't eat breakfast with other guests. You fill out a slip and drop it in the innkeepers mailbox, and indicate what time you would like breakfast to be delivered to your room. You can choose from various juices, portion size, etc. Breakfast was fairly simple, but really good. Breakfast on the mornings we were there were crepes & fruit, waffles & bacon, and eggs with fingerlings and fruit. We both really enjoyed staying here. It was extremely convenient, quiet, safe, and just what we needed to cap off our PNW vacation!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you go to a B&B to meet the hosts and other visitors then this is not the place for you. The location is great, just across from the zoo and not far from downtown. The rooms are beautifully decorated and spacious however it was very warm and the AC was noisy so we kept it off and tried our best to sleep. The breakfast was not good, over cooked eggs and mushrooms and no toast etc. There were plenty of beverages in the downstairs fridge along with snacks and ice creams which was much appreciated. Didn't try to hot tub or the bbq but liked these added features. The hair dryer kept blowing the sockets out and I had to ask someone downstairs to borrow theirs, given there was no host to speak to. I would not stay again but was glad of the exerperience. Just really missed the interaction and connection with others. Suggest block out blings in the living room as the light was very bright in the morning for my mother who was using the sofa bed.

Room Tip: Take a room on the side not facing the road as it can be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocoee, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Chelsea Station Inn is a one-of-a-kind Bed & Breakfast in the northern Seattle area. Short review: it is the best lodging experience my wife and I have ever had.

Location: The location of the Chelsea Station Inn is roughly 10-15 minutes north of Seattle Center/Downtown Seattle. It is far enough away from these areas to not feel crowded, but still quite close to the attractions and sites that Seattle has to offer. The Woodland Park Zoo is only a block away (and parking tends to be tough there) which is an added benefit to the location - you can easily walk there. It is located on a residential street - the only thing less than perfect about our experience is we had to park about a block away most days. However this seems to be true about anywhere you go in Seattle, so I really don't consider it as a knock against Chelsea Station.

The Inn: Chelsea Station is very modest from the outside. The older brick building is not very noteworthy (aside from its size, being about 5,000 square feet by my estimate) and is not flashy by any means. However, behind the fence, the grounds are quite nice, with attractive outside seating for lounging, a spa, and multiple blooming flowers. The outside is well-maintained and relatively quiet, though there is some nearby traffic. Inside, there are few common areas other than stairs at the front and back of the inn - the front ones connecting the front door to each suite, and the back stairs connecting the suites, back entrance, and inn-keeper's quarters, kitchen, and snack area. The areas are all very nice, with modern decor and good upkeep.

The Rooms: Due to a late booking (about a week out) we had to split our stay between two of the suites (numbers 2 and 3). You will find the suites are all quite similar, save for their location in the Inn (1 and 2 are on the lower floor, 3 and 4 are on the upper floor). All rooms include a kitchen, bedroom, 1 and a half baths with large shower with two shower heads (one being a mounted or hand-held wand), dining area, and living room. Entry doors are at both the front and back stairs. Decor in each of the rooms is very modern, attractive, and relaxing. Fixtures and appliances are all clean and modern, including plumbing fixtures (mostly Kohler) and kitchen appliances (modest refrigerator and both standard and French press coffee brewers). The room is very spacious with quite a bit of closet space, open space (but with seating for 6 if I recall) in the living room, and a good-sized dining area with seating for 4. Everything in the room appeared to be clean and well-maintained.

The Experience: You can see from the above we really enjoyed the Inn itself. But the best part about it was the whole experience of it - the service and the extras. To start, there is a fully stocked refrigerator on the lowest floor (the inn-keeper's floor) with cold water, sodas (Coke products, thank goodness), specialty sodas/waters, and two types of bottled beer. Also in the 'fridge were cheese wedges and fruit (possibly other items, but I can't remember it all!). The freezer had a few assorted desert items (Haagen Daaz ice cream popsicles). Also available were dry snacks such as Biscotti, almonds, cookies, chips, etc. Additionally, in the afternoons/evenings, two varieties of wine were available in the inn-keeper's kitchen. All of these were extras that we have never seen anywhere else. It may be small, but being able to grab a beer with a pizza we brought back to the Inn for dinner, and some ice cream for desert, and wine in the afternoon, really make a difference. It makes it feel like home, like we aren't being nickled-and-dimed, and like the owners want us to have everything we need. Beyond this, breakfast was GREAT! Fresh ingredients, cooked to our request, and delicious taste. We know at least one day Lori cooked breakfast for us (which is brought to your room!), and as soon as we saw it she could tell we might want more, and offered to make seconds if we wanted. We went down to the kitchen shortly after finishing our first round, and she gladly made an additional dish for us with a smile, and brought it up to our room. Again, what amazing service and great people!

We can't say enough great things about the Chelsea Station Inn. The location, the rooms, and the extra above-and-beyond offerings and service make this Inn the spot we would recommend more to friends than any other place in the *country* that we have been to. I only wish it was not 3,000 miles away from our home - but on the bright side, we know we have a home on the other side of the country any time we need it!

Room Tip: All rooms are essentially the same, if you prefer the upper floor choose suites 3 or 4, otherwise ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chelsea Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Station

Address: 4915 Linden Ave N, Seattle, WA 98103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle’s most elegant and comfortable little Inn, Chelsea Station Inn B&B has penthouse sized lodging at a very accommodating price. Enjoy approximately 900 square feet in each suite with full sized living room, dining room, powder room, kitchen and deluxe master suite in each of our four suites. To spend a night or a week at "Chelsea" is to be surrounded by a world of luxury not commonly found at this price point. A beautiful breakfast is served to your room every morning by our highly professional staff. We provide wine daily as well as micro brews, juices, sparkling water, cheese, yogurt and granola all for free 24 hours per day. We understand vegan, vegetarian, salt free, and gluten free diets. And we are walking distance to Green Lake and the Zoo, as well as the Fremont, Phinney Ridge, and Wallingford neighborhoods. And we are a quick drive into the city on a direct line to the Seattle Center, Safeco Field and Century Link Field and the University of Washington. This is "the one" if you want large gracious suites, a great location, countless amenities without charge all provided in a beautiful historic Seattle building built by one of Seattle's most famous builders of the period. Please be our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Chelsea Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Station Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.