We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice for Its Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn
5005 22nd Ave. NE, Seattle, WA 98105 (University District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 37 Seattle B&B and Inns
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very Nice for Its Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a very pleasant B&B in what I would call a "student-occupied" area of the University District. If you need or want to be in the University District, then this is a fine place to stay. I would not say it's the best place for more general touring of Seattle. The local neighborhood is not all that interesting. Our room was comfortably furnished, but the small attic room (can't remember the name) couldn't get cooled enough by the small AC unit. This was in early August, so in more temperate seasons this probably wouldn't be an issue. Excellent breakfast provided by the very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    43
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
68
94
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Early this spring my husband and I had to be in Seattle to take care of some business, that required an overnight stay. Not wanting to be in a Hotel, we searched the internet for a suitable B&B. The reviews for the Chambered Nautilus B&B were so favorable, that we decided to stay there. What a fabulous experience it was. Lovely and very clean rooms. Great family room with fireplace and an abundance of books and news papers. Coffee, Tea and homemade cookies available around the clock. And an incredible breakfast was served in the morning.
We met people from all over the world.
So a few weeks later, we had to go to Seattle again, and guess were we stayed this Time?
Again at the Chambered Nautilus B&B. The same fantastic experience was being had by my husband and myself.
I'm looking feverishly for a reason to go back to Seattle for a couple of days, just to stay at the Chambered Nautilus again.
It's like a mini vacation.

Room Tip: One has to walk up to the house from the street, where you can park your car. And, by the way, ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in Vancouver and Seattle, staying at different Bed & Breakfasts every three nights. We ended our honeymoon here and it was great. We stayed in the Garden Room and had a bed big enough to invite our families with us! The wifi wasn't great and getting to and from Seattle was a bit of a walk to the nearest bus stop, but we're young and active so we didn't mind. There was always fresh fruit, cookies and a variety of hot and cold drinks available for us for free, which we free appreciated. The breakfasts were great! My husband is a tad picky and didn't care for the unique menu, but I LOVED it. My favorite was a crab and egg puff! YUM!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a bathroom inside of it...don't stay in The Garden Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodworth, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed at the Chambered Nautilus for 2 weeks while visiting my son in Seattle. It was a comfortable and lovely stay. The Chambered Nautilus was the perfect place for a lengthy stay. I love nature and the beautiful and well-kept landscaping provided plenty of nature including the humming birds around the flowers and birdbath. The staff always had a warm greeting and were so accommodating. Delicious and well-balanced breakfasts were served each morning including fresh fruit cups and juices(tasted freshly juiced).
I truly felt this was a home away from home! Will be back on next visit to Seattle.
Dianne M /Louisiana

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The room was well appointed, it was quiet, and the location is good - restaurants and shops within walking distance, a good park nearby for exercise, and Seattle within easy reach by car or bus. The staff is friendly and professional, food is good, and the common living area is inviting. The only concerns are (1) the inn is located half way up a hill and the stairs are steep (would be tough for elderly or infirm people) and (2) some of the local area is a bit trashed by students. But the inn itself, and the staff, is very good.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are probably cooler in summer and quieter. Though the hillside setting removes a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushford, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We so enjoyed our stay at the Chambered Nautilus. At time of booking, couldn't get in Friday night, but they put us on a waiting list, and we were relieved to be contacted with an opening. Spent the first night in the Northwest Chamber, then they moved to the Cascade Suite for the rest of our stay. The house is warm and welcoming, and grounds covered with beautiful flowers. The owner and staff were friendly and professional and went out of their way to chat with us and help us find nearby restaraunts. All of the breakfasts were tasty, and we enjoyed our table mates very much. The Northwest Chamber was small but very cute with a nice layout and porch. The Cascade Suite was a comfortable 2 bedroom apartment. Compared to a basic hotel room with a "free breakfast" this is a much better deal!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We just returned from a lovely trip to Seattle. Our stay at The Chambered Nautilus was delightful. The staff was kind and attentive and very helpful. The breakfasts were heavenly.and the Inn itself was cozy and lovely. Or room was very large, very private and we had everything we needed....even our own private rooftop deck!! We would definitely stay there again!! Thank you to everyone at The Chambered Nautilus!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 5005 22nd Ave. NE, Seattle, WA 98105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic Seattle B&B, 10 minutes from downtown near the University of Washington, shopping, and restaurants. Rooms at our Seattle, WA bed and breakfast are appointed with private baths, luxurious linens, desks, Wi-Fi & TVs! Start every day with an unforgettable gourmet breakfast & fresh roasted coffee at our bed and breakfast in Seattle! Looking for Seattle University District hotels? Named by USA Today as one of the top 10 inns for business travelers! Check out our pet friendly suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambered Nautilus b&b Inn
Chambered Nautilus Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.