We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - Comfortable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the WAC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inn at the WAC to your Saves list
Inn at the WAC
1325 Sixth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
Hotel amenities
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location - Comfortable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Love the location in Seattle. The rooms are very comfortable. With access to the workout facilities here you can't go wrong. This is our companies preferred hotel location and we have requested this location to be the list going forward. Compared to similar properties in the area, the prices are very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors away from the streets and facing the sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaWiddice, Manager at Inn at the WAC, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear PortlanderinSeattle,

Thank you so much for your review of the WAC! We could not agree more that the location is perfect! Thank you so much for advocating the WAC to your company. We cannot wait to welcome you back!

Yours in hospitality,
Amanda Widdice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    30
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
30
11
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Inn at the WAC is luxurious enough but it is also a bit old-fashioned. The building is older and waiting for the (very slow) elevators is part of the experience. Unfortunately the rooms are on the top floors, with the club facilities underneath but there is only one club-specific elevator and so most members take the hotel elevators to get to their workouts.

Rooms come with a fancy shower but no refrigerator or mini-bar. The floors have an odd dorm-room feel to it with some rooms clustered behind a common entrance. Overall the floors are dark and the layout is often confusing.

The athletic club is a big plus except that one has to pay a $15 a day fee to use all facilities. The workout rooms are divided into a men's and a women's floor. There are also lots of rules. You can't do this or that, etc.

Having a big pool is great but unfortunately it is booked at all hours for master's swimming, water aerobics, family swims, and what have you. In the morning and late afternoon it is packed with members. You are lucky if you can fit in a swim. There is a pool schedule in the WAC magazine.

To get in the door you have to show your "credentials." and if you need a taxi, don't as the bell man, just walk to the nearby Sheraton because that is where the cabs are.

Other than that it is a great place in a great location.

Room Tip: The corner rooms can be pretty noisy because one has to open several doors to get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaWiddice, Manager at Inn at the WAC, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Frank E,

Thank you for your review of the WAC! Being a private establishment, we do require all members and sponsored guests to show their ID cards or guest passes to enter. I am sorry to hear that the pool was not available during your stay. With our honor bars and refrigerators, we do have certain room types that offer these amenities. Additionally, refrigerators can be brought in at no cost. When you plan to return, please let us know and we will be happy to arrange these for you. Thank you for staying with us.

Yours in hospitality,
Amanda Widdice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I`m little obsessed about sport and WAC is the best place in Seattle downtown to have some exercises. Nice pool, huge gym, indoor track and special classes (if you want to work in groups) at your disposal and everything is for free (obviously except group classes) for guests.
What else makes it special is unique "inner club" atmosphere.
Personally I`m quite far from all aristocratic or high club things but sometimes it`s really nice to see fit and well dressed young and senior people in lobby when they are going to dinner or club party.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaWiddice, Manager at Inn at the WAC, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear YuryTu,

Thank you for posting your feedback! I am happy to hear that the WAC is your stay of choice in Seattle! Thank you for taking advantage of all the complimentary athletic areas that was included during your stay. When you are ready to return, please feel free to contact us.

Yours in hospitality,
Amanda Widdice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place is in a great location although a little tough to find (there's no indication in the front that there's a hotel, so I ended up walking past it the first time - I popped into the WAC to ask where the Inn was and the doorman said "this is it!").
Room was decent, I have no complaints. All I ever really care about is a clean room with a good bed, good wifi, and good water pressure - this place had all of those.
A big bonus is that guests are allowed to use the athletic club facilities - unfortunately I wasn't prepared for that as I was only there for one night, but I thought it was a really nice touch.
This is where I'll be staying next time I go to Seattle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaWiddice, Manager at Inn at the WAC, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear aimansmith,

Thank you so much for posting your review. I am very pleased to hear that you found us and that you plan to return! When you do, please feel free to contact us. We would love to have you back!

Yours in Hospitality,
Amanda Widdice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The outside of the hotel looks dated, but the room was comfortable and well appointed with modern amenities. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. The staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful. It was a really pleasant surprise.
I tried to get room service one night, but it closes pretty early, but I was able to get something in the bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaWiddice, Manager at Inn at the WAC, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear GRJones3,

Thank you so much for posting your review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and amenities! On behalf of our staff, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon!

Yours in hospitality,
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

For years i walked by and thought, what is this Athletic Club all about. Luckily almost all hotels were sold out and I fond the Inn At The WAC.
Its a nice old building with modern interior.
I liked the "4 floors of fitness" very much, there is free access to the health club for hotel guests.
The restaurants need renovation.
The sports bar is very nice.
Breakfast is a poor experience.
The only point of criticism concerns the front desk: they keep forgetting calling the taxis you order, don't notify you when rooms are ready, etc.
We will come back, nevertheless.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaWiddice, Manager at Inn at the WAC, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Henry_Rome,

Thank you very much for your review of the WAC! We are happy to hear that you finally had the opportunity to experience the Club and various outlets. I am very disappointed to hear that you did not have exceptional experiences in the restaurant and with guest reception. I will address your comments and concerns with each team and we will review ways to ensure that our service levels continue to exceed expectations. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please contact me directly at awiddice@wac.net. Please feel free to contact us when you return to the Pacific Northwest.

Yours in Hospitality,
Amanda Widdice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

A little confusing that this historic location houses both an athletic club and a hotel. The room was comfortable, with great views of downtown and the water, and modern, clean furnishings. Free wireless. Had to show room key at entry due to club and some floors near the pool smelled a little like chlorine. Parking is $34 / night for guests and just a block down from the hotel entrance. Location is fantastic, easy access to Pike Place Market, shopping district and dining (Starbucks, Kudasai Sushi, TCBY, etc.) just across the street.

Room Tip: West side rooms had nice views of downtown and partial view of the water. I was in 1709 which was qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaWiddice, Manager at Inn at the WAC, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Cat_9079,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the property! On behalf of the team, we thank you for staying with us. When you plan to return to Seattle, please remember the WAC!

Yours in Hospitality,
Amanda Widdice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the WAC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the WAC

Address: 1325 Sixth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1930 the Washington Athletic Club has been a downtown Seattle institution, catering to the athletic and hospitality needs of its members. The Inn at the WAC has been an integral part of the Club since its inception. The Inn offers a high level of personalized service and in-room amenities. We offer a central downtown location with the exclusivity and security that only a private club can ensure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Inn at the WAC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Wac Hotel Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the WAC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.