We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could hope for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Loyal Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Loyal Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Loyal Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2301 8th Ave., Seattle, WA 98121-1907 (Belltown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #56 of 95 hotels in Seattle
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Everything you could hope for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

My friends and I do a road trip to a different NFL venue every year. This was a great place to stay in Seattle. We like to hit up a few tourist spots in addition to the stadium itself and this hotel proved the perfect location to accomplish that. It's within easy walking distance of The Space Needle, Pike Place Market, and basically anywhere downtown. If you have no problem walking, you can even walk to the stadiums with little issue (45 minutes, maybe?), which we did. As for the hotel itself, it's been recently remodeled so it's very clean and modern. The bedding was the most comfortable I've experienced in recent memory, and the breakfast is very legit (it's beyond a continental breakfast but not quite a "real" breakfast). The price was a ridiculous bargain ($75/night) but this place was so perfect for what we were looking for, I would've been happy if I'd paid $125. The staff was very friendly, great location, outstanding pricing. It's the dream scenario for a budget traveler looking for the ideal location, but it has enough frills that even a more high maintenance individual would be more than happy.

  • Liked — Location, bedding
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    170
    79
    39
    18
See reviews for
105
138
40
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strongsville, Ohio
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2008

We stayed at the Loyal Inn because we wanted to be in downtown Seattle, since we only had two nights there. It exceeded our expectations in many respects. The rooms were large and comfortable, with many extra amenities. The breakfast was very extensive, with many fresh fruits, eggs, breads and even waffles.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, especially with suggestions of places to see during our rather limited time in the city. (Highlights were the Columbia Center, the second tallest building on the west coast, with marvelous views of the surrounding area, and also the Pike Street Market.)

We also appreciated the location, as it is within two blocks of the area of free bus transportation from early morning to late evening on all buses in the downtown area. This was a marvelous idea, and did much to cut down on traffic congestion.

I plan to return to this hotel in the spring of 2009.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

Wanted to stay in the downtown area; am a member of the Best Western Gold Club, and decided to add some points to my balance and stay here. We are not super picky - we just need a bed after all, since we will be out and about most of the day anyway. It was difficult to find rest and comfort at this location. Besides the horrible noise pollution going on outside, the guests in the hotel do not care about being quiet at 2am either - and the staff could care less. The room was dingy, if not out right dirty, smelled like mildew, and had stains on the carpet. Tiny bathroom, not big enough to turn around in. Bad TV reception just to add insult to injury. Walls and lines felt damp (humid area, but why would that matter indoors?) Location is much to be desired, homeless people sleeping next to the hotel, and I think I actually witness a drug deal going on outside my window.... pay a few extra $$ and stay somewhere safer, cleaner and more comfortable!

  • Liked — not a thing!
  • Disliked — everything!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loyalinnSeattle, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Loyal Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2008
This location is definitely great in relation to the downtown area and the Space Needle area. Being in such a convenient location also means we are close to many events and sometimes energy of their enthusiasm can be heard as they pass the hotel but this is rare. We definitely do care about guest comfort. Once aware of noise we warn the perpetrator(s) and if need be remove them from our property. The rooms are regularly maintained and inspected and so we believe the state of the room you mentioned is anomalous. The rooms have recently been updated with new furniture and bathrooms sizes are typical to the area hotels in general if not bigger. We also take the security of the guests seriously and have security that regularly patrol the hotel and the surrounding area. Anybody who doesn't belong is removed from property. The television reception is sometimes a little fuzzy when coming from the cable companies, but often the local channels are found on a higher channel and are clearer. I hope you visit us the next time and you will see that the experiences you've had were an unfortunate rarity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

The room that I was given had not been made up after the previous guests. The front desk promptly gave me another room, which appeared to be an upgrade. Except for the room’s carpeting, the facility was clean and well-maintained throughout. The staff was friendly and helpful; the continental breakfast had ample selections and amounts. The room’s thin floor covering appeared not to have been vacuumed. The thermostat on the noisy heating/air conditioning unit didn’t work, and the heat had to be turned on & off manually, throughout the night. The hotel is located in the downtown area, and there was some street noise. OK for business travelers and seniors. About 2 miles from AMTRAK.

  • Disliked — Noisy heating/air conditioning unit
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

Enjoy your breakfast and the thought that you are saving money -- but that is about it.

We stayed just overnight and this is the duration that I recommend to everyone.

First, if you are from outside U.S., make sure you print out the sheet (ie. travelocity or expedia page) showing that you get free parking. We had a dispute with the front desk who said they do not give free parking but if we could prove it, they would be "more than happy" to accommodate. We had to use their internet (free luckily) to print out the page and show to them.

Second, bedding linens were worn out and must have been from the 70s but were clean. Checked for roaches, etc but none so I guess they earned their 2 stars. Carpet is threadbare. You get a fuzzy TV with full cable and a reasonable sized fridge (no alcohol) and microwave. We were offput by the dispensing machines in the bathroom where you pressed buttons to get shampoo and soap. How cheap is that?

Construction in the neighborhood begins at 7am sharp where we were woken by jackhammer drill early in the morning.

Breakfast was excellent in a huge breakfast room and includes yogourt, waffles (you make your own), pastries, fruit, cereal, milk, hard boiled eggs, toast, bagels. We were disgruntled by our room but the free breakfast somewhat made us feel better.

Elevator is sometimes slow. Cleaning staff don't say hello or smile, I guess don't care about guests considering this is 2 star hotel. Take the stairs if you can.

Location is central, although seems area is kind of seedy if not dead. Lots of car lots around. You can walk to downtown within 10 minutes. They leave a card on your bed warning you to be cautious about safety in this area and maybe it is warranted.

We enjoyed Phantom of the Opera while we were there. Parking is close but expensive and around $20 for events.

Get what you pay for.

  • Liked — Free Breakfast and lots of it
  • Disliked — Worn Down Rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

The front desk at the hotel was less than helpful. The one guy, who seemed to be the manager, was very knowledgable about the area and very helpful. However, we encountered several other desk attendants who were not interested in helping.
The breakfast was bigger and better than what I expected. However, we could hear the beeping from the waffle machine every morning as we were just two doors down from the breakfast room.
The hotel is located several blocks from the Seattle Center (Space Needle) and we really enjoyed the Experience Music Project (like a music museum) there.
All in all, we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

I am employed at a Best Western and I was dissappointed with our experience at the Loyal Inn.

1) The staff was very nice, the room was clean. But..
2) We were very disappointed at the size of our room for five people. Having requested a room with double queen beds, we got what seemed like standard size double beds. (Room # 210)
3) The parking...we were VERY shocked and disappointed to have to have paid $10.00 plus $1.65 parking tax to park our car at the motel we paid over $100.00 to stay in!!
4) The spa was very grossly dirty!! We wouldn't even get in it after seeing the slim and hair ring all around it!

We will NOT recommend staying at this motel to anyone and we will NEVER stay there again.

Debbie Dreyer

  • Liked — breakfast, close to space needle
  • Disliked — no pool, room & bed size, having to pay to park our car, dirty spa
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Loyal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Loyal Inn

Address: 2301 8th Ave., Seattle, WA 98121-1907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Loyal Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Motor Inn across from Denny Park, 6 blocks from Seattle Center & Space Needle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Loyal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Loyal Hotel Seattle
Best Western Seattle
Seattle Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Loyal Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.