We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Square Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   77 Yesler Way, Seattle, WA 98104-2530 (Pioneer Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #27 of 95 hotels in Seattle
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed at the Best Western Plus at Pioneer Place for 3 days and it was great. It was clean, the staff was incredibly friendly, and the breakfast was quite good. They give you free access to a gym in the area (which is an actual gym, not just a room with a treadmill), and parking was not unreasonable ($20 per night, not too bad).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    386
    275
    56
    30
    14
See reviews for
129
340
69
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Mitchell & all the staff went above & beyond for our wedding vacation! We felt warmly welcomed & all our needs were met with graciousness during our most comfortable stay (highly recommend splurging on the suite). The hotel itself is a beautiful kept piece of history in an eclectic part of downtown. Other reviews had us nervous, but despite a few super polite panhandlers we found the neighborhood very walkable & full of great shops, restaurants, & incredible architecture (take the underground tour, it's just wacky). Cheers!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed for a whole week and wouldve happily have stayed the month! Location was great.Right on the water, walking distance to the Amtrak train station, ferries, Smith Tower, quite a few museusm, bars and restaurants and shops. I enjoy walking so I enjoyed the 30 min stroll downtown and if you are a walker like me 20 more minutes and you will reach the Seattle Space Needle and its all attractions there (loved the walking!). Was not too far to walk to the famous Fish throwing markets, the bubble gum wall, the first ever Starbucks and a large array of cafes and restaurants downtown. The hotel is an old fashioned historic building with high ceilings, spacious clean rooms. Floors can be a little creaky but again, old fashioned historic building. There is no laundry room for guests but there is a laundry service. The bed was comfortable, bathroom was on the small side. There is a free breakfast but its not extensive, its sufficient id say. Sausage and Egg biscuits (not english muffin, its a scone with sauce and egg i was not a fan), hard boiled eggs, selection of yogurts, bananas, water bottles, juices, coffee and tea, waffle maker, some pastries and toast. The staff were friendly and helpful. All the staff in all shifts were great and were more than happy to help you with giving you directions, great job guys!!! I actually would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone.

If you havent been to San Francisco and this is your first time to Seattle, word of warning:
There seems to be a large community of homeless people that is bigger than in other American cities ive visited (but less than San Francisco). Pioneer Square has a lot of homeless people but dont be too alarmed 99.9% of them wont even bother you. They pretty much keep to themselves and you can go on your merry way. But this is pretty much the norm everywhere in Seattle.

Belltown - in my personal experience had more homeless people that would bother you and were a bit aggressive.
I would definitely stay in Pioneer Square over Belltown that I have experienced both ends. Belltown is a bit of a dump whereas Pioneer Square has historic value and beautiful buildings.

ignore the date stamp on my camera, I accidently had the wrong date set and didnt know it all these photos were taken in September 2013 :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We purposely looked for a Pioneer Square hotel to see some Seattle Museums we had not experienced.

This Best Western was in a terrific location, just steps away from the train station, all Pioneer Square restaurants and shops, and the sports stadiums.

We stayed on a Sunday night, and the rate that night was VERY competitive, ( around $120 with AAA or AARP ) particularly considering the full breakfasts that were part of the price. The parking charge of $20 is a little steep, but to be expected in a dense urban core of a city like Seattle.

We were allowed to check in early, and as requested, they gave us a room on an upper floor. It is a historic building, so the room was small. However, it was very well appointed and cozy.

Having had experience staying in downtown Seattle a few times, I don't think you can do better for the price. Freindly folks, safe and secure, comfy bed, good rates. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: I think you get a nicer room if you request an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I have postponed reviewing this hotel because I don't want to have more competition for a booking here, but they deserve a pat on the back.

We stayed here for a couple of nights last January. When I booked the room, I talked with a real, live human being; a very helpful chap. And when we (weeks) later arrived at the hotel, that same real, live human being actually worked there! During the original booking call, we discussed the parking situation, which is generally horrible and expensive in Seattle, (although the hotel apparently has parking passes or coupons) and we came to the conclusion that Amtrak from Portland to Seattle is a great way to go. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the Amtrak station, but, hey it's good exercise.

Our room was quite nice, sort of older hotel ambiance, and very clean. We had no view, which was not important to us, as we were out and about most of the time, and daylight hours were short anyway. But the room rate was great.

Did I mention breakfast? The Pioneer Square Hotel actually has a breakfast room, with all kinds of choices, including fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast, with even a hot waffle iron for making your own waffles. It has a bit of a warm B&B atmosphere.

We found the hotel convenient to a lot of cool pubs, and the market. We have heard that this area can be noisy in the summer, but it was nice and quiet when we stayed there.

This will be our first choice for a place to stay in downtown Seattle. Just promise you won't tell anyone!

Room Tip: Ask about rooms with a view, if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We booked for 2 nights as a stopover, after long flights. Accommodation was a little cramped, but clean and comfortable.. Staff were very friendly and pleasant.The hotel is downtown and we walked to the attractions, easily. Good value. No issues. Continental breakfast was typical for the standard of hotel. Saved a couple of hundred dollars by staying here and not at one of the more well known names a few blocks away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The staff was great, however I feel for paying $500.00 for two nights in a cramped room with a view of a landfill is not okay. There were rust stains on linen and ithe curtains looked like they had fire damage. Out the window was some sort of construction site with tarps and whatnot everywhere. Plus paying for parking. The westin towers offer valet parking for $40 and they're parking garage is on site. We had to pay $40 to park 2 blocks up the street past a park full of homeless following others for change. I have been at a regular best western and this one is no plus. We will not be staying here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Square Hotel

Address: 77 Yesler Way, Seattle, WA 98104-2530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pioneer Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Seattle
#22 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#39 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Square Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Seattle
Seattle Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.