We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for dinner or brunch on the weekends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Presse

Cafe Presse
1117 12th Ave, Seattle, WA 98122-4415 (Downtown)
206-709-7674
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #593 of 3,087 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: French, Coffee Shop, Bakeries, Afghani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great for dinner or brunch on the weekends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The sister restaurant to Le Pichet, not quite as good but still very good. It is larger and has a different feel than Pichet. Many things like the wine list are similar or exactly the same. Very reasonable, did I mention great coffee? Definitely worth a visit or two.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    43
    19
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Best Croque Monsieur ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Already a fan of Le Pichet, I trekked for forty minutes to 12th Ave to try another from the same stable, Cafe Presse. Crowded due to the screening of the World Cup football, I shared a table with a pleasant family, and ordered the croque monsieur. When in France, I fancy this sandwich when it's cooler, or if extra calories are required. I was offered brewed coffee straight up, which made sense given the crowd, and authentic, because trying to get an espresso in France is difficult.
The croque was amazing - best I've had anywhere. Once again I have been delighted by the skill of the chefs in this company. I am a raving fan.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“french bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

this is located in a quiet neighborhood of capital hill off the beaten path. but its a nice quaint small cafe with the ambiance of a french cafe.. the monsiour sandwich is a great find.the mornings on the weekends can get busy .

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pomme Frites and Rose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Met a friend here and managed to find a spot on the deck on a sunny day. We shared pomme frites and Rose. Both were good but the service was spotty outside. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Menu is in French-We ordered in French & Waitress was very rude about it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Today my Fiancé and I took our friends to Cafe Presse. Our good friend is French and because we saw the menu was first in French then in English he ordered his meal in French. Rather than be polite, our waitress was extremely rude about it. After she took our order she stopped serving our table and we heard her talking about us to another server. We were nothing but polite but found the whole experience very offensive. The food and the price was great but we personally won't be going back due to poor service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Presse also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Presse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Presse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.