We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Corner House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seattle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Corner House
102 18th Avenue East, Seattle, WA 98112-5216 (Broadway / Capitol Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 37 Seattle B&B and Inns
Hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

This was my first experience at a bed & breakfast and it was better than I expected. First off you can't beat the price especially for the location (5 minutes or less to downtown by car, 10 minutes on the bus--bus stop is three short blocks away), not to mention free parking! Julianne served a super yummy breakfast (the fresh fruit salad was my favorite) and they are genuinely sweet, well traveled people (ie: lots of interesting stories). They don't impose and make you feel welcomed like its your home too. The house itself is absolutely charming and the backyard is just as cute and comfortable. Spot is a cutie too!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

Just signed up to do some reviews for various bed and breakfasts that we have stayed in the last three years - all of them have been a great experience for us.

Although fog seems to follow us where ever we go - we definitely are never down when we do a bed and breakfast or inn - we met a wonderful English couple here and now will be doing a Southwest trip with them in 2009.

You can not beat the price here when you compare the hotel prices in the area - breakfasts were great and so was all the conversation and assistance in places to see after the wedding was over - I would definitely come back here again.

  • Liked — The other guests
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

My husband and I stayed here a couple of nights during our honeymoon. It was our first B&B experience, and we found everything to be very clean and comfortable. Breakfast foods were plentiful and delicious. We had a room with a private bathroom, but it was a couple of steps outside of our room across the hall. This was fine, but slightly detracted from our privacy. I guess we didn't expect the bathroom to not be in the room. The nearby commercial area was within a reasonable walking distance. Getting downtown was pretty simple via the bus. The neighborhood felt safe.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

My Husband, our 18 month old and I stayed at The Corner House in August of 2008. I must say that the house was absolutely beautiful and spotless. It is well kept. My husband & I moved from NYC to Portland, OR a few years ago. I have always liked staying in nice hotels because of the ambiance & neatness. So The Corner House was our first bed & breakfast and we were both pleasantly surprised!

Julianne & Oliver were wonderful hosts. They really made us feel at home. I was quiet touched when Julianne took the time to interact with our son and she even brought him a few toys to play with. Oliver was out at the time we arrived. So when we finally met him, it was fascinating talking to him. We did not want to leave.

Breakfast was absolutely fresh and delicous. We especially enjoyed the croissants, bagels & fresh fruit. Our room was in the west wing. It was also spotless, cozy & quiet. The bed was really comfortable so we slept very well. We also enjoyed our baths because the bathroom was very clean and had nice decor.

The Corner House is located in a beautiful residential area and we felt very safe. It is also a short bus ride to downtown. The rate for the rooms was great and after our experience with Julianne & Oliver, I see no need to stay in a hotel.

I would recommend The Corner House to anyone who would like to visit Seattle in a New York minute!

  • Liked — The Location, price & cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel aviv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

We stayed at the Corner House for two nights during September.
The room was very nice- comfortable bed, good shower- all the basic things you need. The breakfast was also wonderful- fresh fruit, pastries, cereals, yogurts- everything tasty and healthy.

The best part was, without a doubt, Juliane- the hostess, who was so nice and hospitable and made us feel very welcome and comfy.

The location is great, just a few minute ride in the bus to downtown.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

We made a 3 week trip around the US and the 3 nights we spent at the Corner House were simply magnificent. It is located in a quiet, residential area, a 20 minute walk or short bus drive from the city centre. We especially enjoyed the home made breakfast, where Julianne and Oliver took the time to chat with the guests. We will definitely return tot the Corner House when we visit Seattle again.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

From my initial contact with Julianne, thru our visit, was a pleasure. We stayed at the Corner House B&B Wed - Fri, (Jun 18-20) precruise. Our room (bathroom en suite) and the room our friends stayed in were clean and comfortable. Bathrooms also had a nice decor and were spotless. The inside/outside of the home well maintained. Highly recommend the Corner House B&B to family and friends, and fellow travelers. A lovely breakfast was served at our convenience between 8 - 10 a.m., both mornings. The back yard had a sitting area, a patio with table and chairs, and was a private spot. Oliver gives alot of attention to the landscape and it shows. Julianne did the breakfasts which we all enjoyed. Three blocks down from the CornerHouse, on 15th Ave, are a variety of deli/pizza/cafes/etc , and some retail stores. You can see the top 1/2 of the Space Needle from intersections along 15th Avenue. Unlike downtown, Capital Hill is flat, so the walks were easy.We easily learned the public bus routes to/from Space Needle and Downtown.
Mary & John, Pennsylvania

  • Liked — Clean, convenient, reasonable rates
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Corner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House

Address: 102 18th Avenue East, Seattle, WA 98112-5216
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Broadway / Capitol Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small classic B&B at the top of Seattle's Capitol Hill, two miles downhill to the Pike Place Market, and close to shops, restaurants, parks and buses. Comfortable queen beds, generous breakfasts, lively conversation, old-fashioned value. Our two rooms have private bathrooms, one ensuite, the other across the hall. (For scheduling reasons, we can't promise a particular room in advance.) Resident cat Spotissima doesn't welcome other pets. Internet access and parking are free, and our rates always include taxes. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corner House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Corner House to your Saves list