We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glassblowers, classes and boutique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seattle Glassblowing Studio

Seattle Glassblowing Studio
2227 5th Ave, Seattle, WA 98121 (Downtown)
206-448-2181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 149 activities in Seattle
Type: Art Galleries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Visit Downtown Seattle's premier glassblowing studio and watch LIVE glassblowing by world class artisans!Seattle Glassblowing Studio specializes in glassblowing classes, offering: beginner lessons, workshops and hands-on experiences in our hot shop. Browse our elegant gallery for original hand-blown glass artwork or commission your own original piece. Our gallery features glass bowls, vases, sculptures, jewelry and much more! The rainbow of colors will stimulate your senses and provide you with an unforgettable experience – sure to be a highlight of your visit. Seattle Glassblowing Studio is located in the Belltown neighborhood of Downtown Seattle, underneath the Monorail at 5th Ave and Bell St. The studio is open 7 days a week: Mon - Fri: 9am-6pm, Sat & Sun: 10am-6pm. Admission is FREE!
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Glassblowers, classes and boutique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were too late to do a glassblowing class, but we were able to observe glassblowers at work and found the staff very helpful and nice.

The boutique has original work for sale from Seattle's up and coming talented glassblowers and it was very informative to see the different styles that are currently in trend.

Recommend a visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Inspired by Chihuly? Try it out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We were thrilled to find this place not far from the Chihuly exhibit. We were able to book a 4 hour private lesson the next morning and take our appreciation of glass blowing to another level. It is no doubt a bit expensive, but for 2 of us we had 4 hours of private instruction and were able to have make (with help) about 7 pieces.

Working with molten glass, coloring it and just learning some of the basics is fun, very hot, and fascinating. There is talent and practice involved, so our pieces don't look as nice as those in the gallery, but we made them! Our instructor Amy was very good, patient and encouraging.

This is a bit pricey of an experience, but a wonderful way to take the appreciation of glass art to another level after seeing the Chihuly exhibit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Plan ahead to make the most of this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Small shop with work studio in the back. You are welcome to watch artists and students at work.
Would have lived to try it, but you have to book classes/workshops in advance.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Should be under "Things to Do"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

On a last minute request, we were able to sign up for a 4-hour private lesson for the following day. Best 4 hours we ever spent. Learned all the basics about glassblowing and got to make a nice selection of items from flowers to paperweights to pumpkins. Brandon, our instructor was a last minute fill-in for another one who was injured earlier that morning was very patient and pleasant to work with. Make sure you allow a full 48 hours before picking up your finished work as the annealing process cannot be rushed. Can't wait to try this again :)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Seattle Glassblowing is AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Really, this should be listed in a different section of things to do, I only found it because I Googles glassblowing. With that said, if you have time, you must give glassblowing a try, it is really one of the best things we did while in Seattle.
Larissa is a very calm and patient teacher, she made us feel very comfortable with the molten glass. She taught us how to be safe and confident in what we were creating.My daughters and I now have some very interesting pieces of art which spark conversation with guests to our home.
If you don't want to try blowing glass yourself, there are some great products available for purchase. Wish I would have bought one of the pumpkins that were being made during our visit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seattle Glassblowing Studio also viewed

 

Been to Seattle Glassblowing Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seattle Glassblowing Studio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Seattle Glassblowing Studio to your Saves list