We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steelhead Diner

Steelhead Diner
95 Pine St, Seattle, WA 98101-1530 (Downtown)
206-625-0129
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Steelhead Diner is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #129 of 3,443 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: First
Transit: All downtown bus routes end near or around our address: 95 Pine Street.
Louisville
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Loved the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

On a recommendation from the hotel concierge, we dined here for a late business dinner. Restaurant was very crowded (9pm local time), but we were seated quickly for our reservation. Service was good and server offered menu favorites. The chowder was excellent as was the fish & chips. Entree portions are very large. The poutine was also great. Loved all of the local flair in both food and drink!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    214
    95
    40
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food, horrible service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The food here is very unique and satisfying but be prepared for a very leisurely dine. It took us almost two hours to eat two appetizers and two bowls of soup. And we had to ask for water refills twice. That said, there is a great roof patio which has great atmosphere outside. Foodwise, the fried smelt and crab/shrimp tater tots are fabulous. The clam chowder is delicious as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

went to the steelhead on the advice of wes from "northwest tours on the principal that local knowledge is never wrong. The food was good and based on locally sourced products. The restaurant was very busy for a thursday night which speaks volumes. They had a salmon special which was excelllent, I also had goats cheesecake for dessert which shouldn't work but it did very well

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverBC
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“One of the best breakfasts ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Had breakfast (brunch) here on Sunday and what a treat! They don't open till 11 but it was worth the wait! Our table was overlooking Pike Street and the Pike Market hustle and bustle. The service and staff were excellent as was the food! They brought out fresh yummy bread and basil butter to start. My dad an I had the poached eggs with crab meat and it was SO good - lots and lots of huge pieces of crabmeat ! My mom had the Eggs Cordova which was a huge delicious plate full of apple bacon hash with really nice smoked salmon and asparagus, red peppers etc. The coffee was good, service was fast and I would not hesitate to go there again. My dad is a steelhead fisherman and appreciated the china with fishing lures on it! Nice touch! The people beside us had a young child with them and the waiter made her an origami bird out of the paper menu. It was a $55 bill for the 3 of us and in my opinion worth every penny!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great location; poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Six of us family members heading to the cruise pier stopped by for an early lunch. We asked for an outside table and were told that they do not seat parties of six outside. Because it was relatively early for lunch (11:30 am) and most of the places in the market were not yet open, we stayed. Food was good; service was poor. Five entrees were served 10 minutes before the sixth.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steelhead Diner also viewed

 

Been to Steelhead Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steelhead Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.