We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional property with outstanding service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 1000

Save Saved
You added Hotel 1000 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 1000
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 First Avenue, Seattle, WA 98104 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
B&B with a Twist
Ranked #1 of 95 hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Exceptional property with outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We booked a night at Hotel 1000 at the last minute to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. We used Hotel Tonight to book the room, and I wasn't sure whether that would impact the level of service we received; it didn't! From the moment we arrived every member of the staff was friendly, professional and welcoming. The bell staff and valet were helpful and professional, and Kahn at the front desk was amazing. We received glasses of complimentary sparkling wine while checking in, and were even lucky enough to be there when the spa downstairs was enticing customers with free chair massages! We unfortunately didn't have time to use the spa, but we will next time. Everyone asked what brought us to Seattle, and when we shared it was our 10th wedding anniversary we received congratulations and good wishes. Kahn even sent up champagne and chocolates later in the evening. The room was gorgeous - comfortable, stylish, and with a bathroom I wish I could put in my house. Wonderful soaking tub (fits 2), great shower, and the soaps and lotions were of a much higher quality than you normally see. In the morning it was a quick walk to Pike Place Market for breakfast and browsing. We honestly loved every moment we spent at Hotel 1000, and we definitely plan to return for another 'staycation'.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny F, General Manager at Hotel 1000, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Lisa,

What a wonderful review you took the time to share with our Trip Advisor readers. Thank you also for pointing out the special things my staff did for you to make your 10th anniversary "memorable".

Since you are from the Seattle area- hope you and your husband will return soon and often- also come to our fablous BOKA Restaurant.


Best rgards and many more happy anniversaries!!!

Denny Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,050
    170
    37
    15
    11
See reviews for
182
640
79
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the first time for two nights in September and found the experience a tale of two hotels. Mostly we chose Hotel 1000 because of the very positive reviews we read here and elsewhere. I can understand those reviews as the property is very nice, the rooms average sized but exquisitely amenitied--if such a word exists--and the location central to much of downtown Seattle, particularly Pike Market, the professional football and baseball stadiums and several of the better restaurants. We had a Deluxe City King, which is described on their webiste as having a "vibrant city view." In fact we looked across the street at another hotel front; nothing more, certainly nothing vibrant.

Whereas all that is true, it is also true that the staff were very hit and miss, from great and providing just the sort of service and attention you expect at a first-class hotel to seemingly uncaring, to downright officious. Unfortunately the negative interactions more than canceled out the positive.

And, although I would not stay there again for the above reason alone--there are several very nice hotels in downtown Seattle--the real kicker is that it is impossible to dial-in a room temperature that is comfortable for beyond maybe an hour or two. Although it appears that one can set the in-room thermostat to a desired temperature, in fact the system overrides your wishes at some future point and without notice, and the room warms up, or at least it did in September, I suppose it could go colder too depending on the season. In our case, this meant the room was far too hot at night to sleep comfortably and every couple of hours we would wake up hot and turn down the temp, which would then last for a couple hours and then revert to a higher temperature, and so on throughout the night. No opening windows in the rooms means there is no Plan B alternative.

The front desk personnel said this happened because the air handling system was "green" and environmentally friendly but could be reprogrammed by their engineering department to not behave as such. I requested they do this, and was informed they had, but this made no difference whatsoever and we spent two very uncomfortable sleeping nights, as well as some periods in the daytime.

Combine the several and significant customer service lapses together with very uncomfortable room temperatures and uncooperative HVAC system, and any redeeming qualities the property does have simply cannot overcome these deficiencies.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny F, General Manager at Hotel 1000, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I have reached out to you via email and phone call and look forward to getting this resolved to your satisfaction.

Apprecite your time.

Sincerely,

Denny Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very nice. We were on the 14th floor. City view. Very quiet. Great tv and free wifi. Contemporary decor. Beds were a little hard for me, but I sleep on a temperpedkc at home. Great location for walking to pike market and the waterfront. We thought the valet parking was a bit steep though. ($39/day)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny F, General Manager at Hotel 1000, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest from Portland,

Delighted that you stayed with us and that you took the time to write about it for our Trip Advisor readers.

Glad you very much enjoyed your time and hope you will return soon and often.

Denny Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

What a treat! Alyssa was the gal we interacted with and she was kind, precise and professional. Wonderfully appointed rooms--- tastefully decorated. The bed was beyond comfortable--- in fact, I want to get the pillows for my own home. The bathroom is true luxury with a tub built for two and the ceiling water feature. We fell asleep to twinkling Seattle lights and no hallway or other guest noises at all. I cannot wait to go back. What a true treat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny F, General Manager at Hotel 1000, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Gypsyrose,

What a great overview about Alyssa my front desk agent as well as you pointing out special features of our hotel. Reading that you want to come back is something we hope to achieve with each and every guest.

I see that you are from Seattle.. Please email me persoanlly so I can help arrange your next stay to even be "more memorable" my email is denny.fitzpatrick@hotel1000seattle.com.

looking forwrd to hearing from you- soon and often !!.

Denny Fitzpatrick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I booked this hotel on very short notice as my wife and I arrived in Seattle on a road trip from Los Angeles. From the minute the valet service greeted us to our check in with the receptionist, we were both very pleased with the service given to us. The hotel is ambiance is unmatched. It's hip, cozy and chic. The in room entertainment represents the best. You actually receive ample cable channels for those of us who like to stay in the room and chill out. Check this place out, you will not be disappointed. Oh, it's a very short walk to the wharf. Surrounded by many eateries!!! It's a can't miss hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get above the 9th floor for a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny F, General Manager at Hotel 1000, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Reginald,

You want to come work for us in the PR department!!!!!

thank you for your kind comments about our service and how we made you feel from the very beginning- saying we are a "can't miss hotel" is high praise- thats for sure.

Hope you will return in the not too distant future....

Best regards,

Denny Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived at Hotel 1000 for an eight night stay and were warmly greeted by Denny Fitzpatrick, the hotel manager. During our time in Seattle, Hotel 1000 was the perfect home base. Well located and very comfortable. The staff is crisp, professional and friendly, with a proactive attitude toward serving the guest. The lobby hosts are knowledgeable and helpful in planning activities and recommending restaurants. When we needed transportation, the hotel car took us wherever we needed to go. Also, the citrus-infused drinking water in the lobby was refreshing each time we came in or out. Hotel 1000 was a great place to stay. Our sincere compliments!

Room Tip: The hotel rooms on the Elliott Bay side have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny F, General Manager at Hotel 1000, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear guests from Texas,

What a wonderful overview regarding your stay with us for 8 days.

It was a pleasure meeting you in the lobby and delighted that your stay was "memorable".

Thanks again for your kind remarks about my staff- who make it happen.

Best regards,
Denny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Absolutelu wonderful hotel in perfect location! Room was great with small details like selection of Tazo teas and Starbuck roast coffee and Bathroom had Molton Brown products. Tried also their lovely spa service, with 30% discount card that I got from reception.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny F, General Manager at Hotel 1000, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Sanna,

Fantastic!!!! Thank you- this is a big word- so we recieve it gladly- to make everyones stay with us Fantastic is what we strive to do..

I also want to thank you for using our Spaah.It is a very special place.

Hope you will return in the not too distant future.


Best regards,

Denny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel 1000? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1000

Address: 1000 First Avenue, Seattle, WA 98104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#1 Business Hotel in Seattle
#2 Family Hotel in Seattle
#5 Green Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel 1000 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 1000 is Seattle's premiere luxury destination. Discover the many distinctive qualities that differentiate Hotel 1000: from fully integrated, wired-to-serve technology to initiate, soothing, residential design to delightful surprises - a bathtub that fills from the ceiling and artwork that meets your personal preference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Hotel 1000 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1000 Hotel Seattle
Hotel 1000 Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 1000, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.