We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington State Ferries

Washington State Ferries
2911 Second Avenue, Seattle, WA 98121 (Belltown)
206 464 6400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 178 Attractions in Seattle
Type: Ferries/ Boats, Public Transportation Systems, Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Warminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We couldn't believe the cost of our fare from Seattle to Bremerton - but in a good way! It would've been great value at twice the cost. The ferries are large and clean with very friendly staff. The views en route are just lovely. We were sorry not to have been able to visit the destroyer on Bremerton (closed on Mondays) and the island was very quiet but this was early January so it's to be expected I guess. We did find a nice little cafe/bar called The Two Blocks Up Cafe and enjoyed a nice glass of wine before heading back to the ferry terminal. WSF - highly recommended!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,857
    796
    131
    21
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very affordable comparing to BC Ferries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Took a one way trip from Coupeville to Port Townsend in July. Nothing special, but the price of the ticket is nothing comparing to the same distance on BC Ferries. Would travel again for sure!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A must do in Seattle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This isn't on too many people's list but this is a must for the northwest. The views are great and riding there are a lot of interesting things going on at many of the several destinations the ferry serve. I recommend Bremerton though.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Most visitors take the Seattle-Bainbridge boat and tour Winslow on Bainbridge Island, which is a great way to spend a long afternoon. But, those "in the know" will drive up to Edmonds... which is a cute little downtown with shops and more and then walk onto the Edmonds-Kingston ferry for a nice afternoon. Kingston has a few restaurants, an outdoor activity center (Kingston Adventures) and a two-screen movie theater (Firehouse Theater). It is cute and quaint. On Saturdays in summertime, there is a farmers market at the ferry dock in Kingston, also. Such a fun way to spend a quiet afternoon. Edmonds and Kingston and Puget Sound.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Can't Miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I knew my Seattle trip had to include a ferry ride. We took the ferry to Bainbridge Island to explore. It was a short 35 minute ride (we walked on and planned to explore Bainbridge on foot). Traveling without a car allows you to get on and off the ferry pretty quickly, although they also seemed to be very efficient in loading and unloading cars with drivers. There is plenty of seating, both enclosed and outside. It was a cold autumn day, so we didn't spend much time outside, but did spend some time walking around outside while onboard. There was an armed Coast Guard escort on the return trip as we left Bainbridge Island and upon arrival at Seattle.
It was beautiful to see Seattle from the water. The city was socked in by fog, but once we got out onto the water and on Bainbridge Island, we had sunshine and blue skies. If you're hungry, you can carry food onto the ship, or buy standard snack bar food onboard.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington State Ferries also viewed

 

Been to Washington State Ferries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington State Ferries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.