We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, just...wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seattle Public Library

Seattle Public Library
1000 Fourth Ave, Seattle, WA 98104
206 386 4636
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 506 things to do in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Loomis, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wow, just...wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Not only does Seattle have a gorgeous central library worth a visit, but they have many branches. It's great to visit a town that values knowledge.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    587
    252
    57
    16
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western U.S.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I highly recommend seeing this Koolhaus building. One of a kind, architectural marvel / intrigue. Don't miss it.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, BC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not your typical library”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The library felt so cold, not in temperature but just the feel of it. We wanted to visit the 6th floor, so took the escalator, but it did not stop at our floor...duh? Ok, so we got up to the 8th floor, or was it 10th? Can't remember but tried to get back to the 6th. No escalator could be found to take us back, just the stairs. We were in hurry to stay here, so left immediately.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I have been to several striking libraries in my travels but usually they are famous because they are old with spectacular vintage art. This library is only ten years old and a marvel of innovative design; it's eye candy from start to finish. To help explain what you're seeing, there are signs posted with a number you can call on your cell phone to hear an explanation from the various staff members that work in that part of the building. The Friend Shop has many cute items for sale and the ladies there were friendly and informative. It ended up to be a highlight of our day.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unusual and up-to-date library”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

It is a super example of architecture enhancing function. Great design, fun to walk the reading stacks down 5 stories, have coffee, and enjoy a thoroughly modern urban library! If you have a Seattle Public library card, great service and books.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seattle Public Library also viewed

 

Been to Seattle Public Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seattle Public Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.