We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Cool Homeless Shelter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seattle Public Library

Seattle Public Library
1000 Fourth Ave, Seattle, WA 98104
206 386 4636
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 178 Attractions in Seattle
Type: Architectural Buildings, Libraries, Cultural
Attraction details
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Extremely Cool Homeless Shelter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Seattle Library is rightfully admired as a cutting edge architectural marvel, inside and out. It functions as a library, too. I have a friend who works there who has told me about bums looking to get in from the rain or cold, and perverts using the computer terminals to surf for pornography. Personally, I have never encountered any unsavory people there.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    215
    49
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“a highlight downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stopped by here on a rainy day after wandering through downtown. The building is very beautiful and unique. I would highly recommend a walk through. You can take a series of escalators to the top floor, and look down on the big atrium before riding the elevators down (or wander through exhibits if that's your thing).

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Surprisingly fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

You might not think that a visit to a library would be a choice for a vacation activity, but this building is so cool that it is really a don't miss.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Lovely building, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I went to the library first and foremost to check out the architecture. I was advised to take the elevator to the top, and I'm so glad I did! The building is really special, and the view from the top is great. I also enjoyed the red room.

When I asked for directions the staff was super friendly and helpful, I appreciated that!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Book Worm in a Designer Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Loved the atmosphere in the library. Apart from the cool looking building, the place was perfect for just browsing or completing research for a paper.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seattle Public Library also viewed

 

Been to Seattle Public Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seattle Public Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.