We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go for the architecture” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seattle Public Library

Seattle Public Library
1000 Fourth Ave, Seattle, WA 98104 (Downtown)
206 386 4636
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 212 attractions in Seattle
Type: Libraries, Architectural Buildings
Attraction Details
virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“go for the architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

this is worth a visit to see the mix of architecture and IT -- fantastic spot to see green building techniques and views of the city

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    170
    40
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Attractive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

While in downtown Seattle recently I went by the most amazing looking building, I had to go inside. I never expected this to be the public library. I don’t usually care for modern architecture but I did this, it just works well. And inside is well done as well, there are plenty of work spaces, reading spaces and of course books. When I went in I was surprised that, as modern as it is, it still has that library “feel” to it. Some nice views of downtown Seattle from the top floor as well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Library with Swag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This library is such an awesome place to just kill time between site-seeing adventures or scheduled events in downtown Seattle. The facade of the building is quite unique and you should walk around the perimeter and take it in from every angle. The interior has a lot of awesome random displays and little galleries, so take time to explore. And, of course, you can always sit and read a book...it is a library after all!
As with most things located in downtown Seattle, parking can be a bit of a struggle and you may have to park some distance from the actual location. However, Seattle is a gorgeous city and the extra walking can give you a chance to see the city from a more intimate perspective.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Who Said Library is Boring?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I had never seen a public library with such design and a lot of people who seem to be indulging with all the knowledge they can accumulate. Whattalibrary!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Seattle's uber cool library”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Wow Seattle! Wish city fathers elsewhere had the vision ( and tax dollars) to commission Rem Koolhaus to design their civic library. Even without a library card, you must checkout the 21st century vision of what a city can do. Make sure you get photos of the shiny red walls , soaring atrium and custom furniture and carpets.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seattle Public Library also viewed

 

Been to Seattle Public Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seattle Public Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Seattle Public Library to your Saves list