We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crumpets???” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crumpet Shop

Crumpet Shop
1503 1st Ave, Seattle, WA 98101-1523 (Downtown)
(206) 682-1598
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 3,078 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Bakeries, English, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Coffee & Tea
Neighborhood: Downtown
League City, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Crumpets???”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were leery going after all we are from Texas and thought Whats a Crumpet??? As we walked in a friendly gentleman saw our perplexed looks as we tried to figure out the menu. He explained what a crumpet was and the menu. The staff who took our order, made our crumpets and coffee couldn't have been friendlier! The crumpet reminded us of an English muffin only BETTER! We love it!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    137
    24
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Crumpets alone.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The crumpets alone were so darn tasty! Too bad they were so busy they did not have any available to go. We had a hazelnut and ricotta one, an cheese and ham one, and a salmon and egg one. Each was just as good as the other.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Loved it here. It is small if you want to eat in but the staff are very accommodating and the food was well above average and innovative

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great, convenient breakfast at the market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a great place because it is right on 1st Ave., so no need to fight the crowds to get to it in the market. The crumpets are great - made right on the site visible from the front window. The best toppings we found were either the raspberry preserves or the salmon/cream cheese topping. The bottomless cups of tea were also lovely. The house blend is particularly delicious -- a darjeeling / ceylong mix. The staff was friendly and patient - clearly used to having customers from out of town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“In love: best breakfast in Seattle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I ate at several restaurants in Seattle, but our breakfast at the Crumpet Shop stands out the most. It's a little shop that's easily accessible from 1st Ave. The crumpets are made fresh, as are the toppings. I was undecided in line and the friendly staff helped me decide what to order. Hungry? Definitely order 2. I ordered one with Nutella that absolutely melted in my mouth with the first bite. My other crumpet was delicious, but quite different- fresh salmon cream cheese and egg. It's very reasonably priced and you won't leave hungry. You MUST try the crumpet shop,

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crumpet Shop also viewed

 

Been to Crumpet Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crumpet Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.