We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hearty Breakfast in Queen Anne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mecca Cafe

Mecca Cafe
526 Queen Anne Ave North, Seattle, WA 98109 (Magnolia / Queen Anne)
206-285-9728
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #188 of 3,563 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Magnolia / Queen Anne
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Hearty Breakfast in Queen Anne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Grabbed a booth when the doors opened at 7am. Cozy place, seems like a neighborhood diner. Good coffee, attentive service, and my breakfast of french toast, scrambled eggs, and links was delicious and filling.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    59
    12
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfasts served all day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Went for breakfast, it was delicious. Staff were not too friendly, maybe it was too early? It's a small cafe, so if there are no tables, then you have to grab a spot at the bar. Food is worth it though. If you need a drink in the am too, they will serve it up.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We went here on a Sunday morning for brunch. Our waitress was very nice and the food was pretty good, fairly standard diner breakfast. But the pint glass mimosas on Sunday morning were $4.50! So yes, I would go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrendous Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Had breakfast there on 10/4/12 and experienced the worst service ever. The server was very snappy with everyone and couldn't wait to get back to the counter to eat her own breakfast. Looked at my receipt that says her name was Anna. Very bad experience for a tourist to Seattle. Chose the place due to an ad in a handout at the Inn at Queen Anne where I was staying. The management should have the help eat out back, not at all or tell her to eat before she gets to work. Food was OK.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great Greasy Spoon - With Bacon to Die For!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We visited Mecca for breakfast, and were not dissapointed - locals told us it was "the best greasy spoon breakfast around," and I can't imagine they were wrong! Great coffee, good service (my cup was always full and they checked in with us right after we ordered to ensure all was okay).

My recommendation: Get the bacon! It was to die for! Giant - about 8" long and 4" wide - and yummy on some bread with scrambled eggs done just right.

The atmosphere is great - the server's t-shirts say "alcoholics serving alcoholics" and given that the guy next to me at the counter had to PBRs with his breakfast, I have to believe they are right.

Definitely swing by - this place is fantastic!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mecca Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mecca Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mecca Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.