We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but worthwhile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Space Needle: Sky City

Space Needle: Sky City
400 Broad Street, Seattle, WA 98109 (Lake Union)
206.905.2100
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Space Needle: Sky City is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 3,429 restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Lake Union
Cross street: 4th Avenue and Broad Street
Transit: The monorail runs every 15 minutes from the Westlake Center on 5th Avenue and Pike Street to the Space Needle.
Whidbey Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pricey but worthwhile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I ate at the Space Needle some 25 years ago and enjoyed ourselves immensely. Consequently, we decided to take our children there on a recent visit to the city. The staff was attentive and thoughtful about our needs. The food was great (again) but not necessarily worth the steep price. That said, the ambiance and thrill of eating at the top of the Space Needle made up for it. We happened to dine just at sunset (and there was a sun to see!) and finished our trip with a walk around the observation deck. (included in the price) Sky City is not a place I'd eat on a regular basis, but it certainly is a special treat for out of town guests or the rare special occasion.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    655
    429
    148
    44
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Anniversary Dinner in the Sky complete with Snow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great View (of Course) Staff was very helpful, free complimentary photos, great food, I had steak tenderloin, my husband had the salmon. The best touch, we had "snow" falling during our meal (provided by the restaurant)!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great View with Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

If you pick the correct day with beautiful sunny weather or a lovely sunset this could be the best experience you have on your Seattle vacation. We had lunch at the Sky City restaurant on one of those warm, sunny September days and really enjoyed every part of our two hours of the rotating view of Seattle. I had read some of reviews about poor food quality and being expensive and but I had always had good experiences in the past when I lived in the Seattle area, so wanted to go up again and enjoy the great view. From bottom to top the service was outstanding! A friendly greeting at the lower reception desk, no wait for our scheduled lunch reservation, friendly greeting up at the restaurant and being promptly shown to our window side table. The table service was super, the food was very good and the view was even better than my first visit in 1962 (many new buildings and changes to Seattle). Yes people go up for the view and it is worth it. The cost is not expensive $45 -- the $20 elevator ride to the top is included, so your meal cost is about $25. The food, the service and the view made this an outstanding visit and I will return again the next time I visit Seattle. Why buy a $25 meal in a chain restaurant and stare at four inside walls when you can enjoy the beauty of Seattle and enjoy a great meal with very good and friendly service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The brunch menu is good with a choice of several items for each course. Wine list is also good with a nice variety of local wines. Food was very good but a little pricey ($45 minimum per person). However this did include the ride up to the observation level. Service was good and wait staff are always helpful in describing the views you are seeing and picture taking if you need it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Hills, KY
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not worth it...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Let me begin by saying that the view is obviously tremendous from the revolving restaurant. You will indeed get the 360 degree view during your meal. That being said, the food is not worth the price. Therefore, if you want the view, pay for the observation deck and eat elsewhere. On the plus side the service is great and the staff is exceptionally friendly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Space Needle: Sky City also viewed

 

Been to Space Needle: Sky City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Space Needle: Sky City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.