We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast/brunch/lunch place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Cafe

Bay Cafe
1900 West Nickerson Street, Seattle, WA 98119-1650
206 282 3435
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #960 of 3,488 Restaurants in Seattle
Cuisines: American, Greek
Restaurant details
Gresham, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great breakfast/brunch/lunch place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Fun place to go on a nice day, great view of the bay and fishing boats. It looks right out to the wharf where all the fishing boats are docked. Their menu is great, the food was good and the service was excellent and pleasant. It is 50's diner decor, but updated and very clean. Only issue is it is quite noisy when it is full. We went for lunch, but I would like to return for breakfast/brunch. Amazing selection of omelets! Luncheon salads are huge and there is a good selection of sandwiches and burgers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've eaten at all the establishments at Fisherman's Terminal now, and I like the Bay Cafe because it feels like eating at my grandmother's house. The food is good, but all the waitresses are sweet and dote on me. I've only been in for lunch so far, but then food is well priced, good and if I want to sit and eat by myself and read I can do that.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Solid Breakfast, and a view to boot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The menu seemed like pretty standard breakfast fare, and they do have waffle and egg combo breakfasts, which are not too common. The food was good and there was plenty of it! Service was friendly and attentive, and there was a view of the fishing harbor just out the gigantic windows.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“It's an OK Place to Eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I've eaten at The Bay Cafe for many years. The service is OK. The food - they have a good selection on the menu. The breakfasts are ample. I'd say most of the food is OK, but nothing to write home about. Friendly busy atmosphere most of the time. They are very accomodating if you have a large group (like 8-12 people) come in for lunch and you let them know ahead of time, they can set you up in the smaller room where they can seat you all together. Admittedly I have not tried everything on their menu - I see people are raving about the Eggs Benedict, so maybe I am missing out. I guess I could see going in there for breakfast, but they are right across from Chinook's, whose food is just better. For the price, The Bay Cafe is not bad. It is less expensive than eating at Chinook's and Chinook's doesn't serve breakfast.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Seafood and Fishermen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Bay Cafe tucked into a little corner of Seattle's Fisherman's Terminal is my favorite place for breakfast in Seattle. They open at 6:30 AM and close in the early afternoon so they are only open for breakfast and lunch. In those early morning hours you'll share the restaurant with fishermen and other early workers before they start their work day. You can watch the sun rise over the fishing boats anchored nearby. There are all the regular diner breakfasts of eggs and potatoes and pancakes. But you'll also find halibut and eggs and a range of benedicts that are wonderful. My favorite is the Seafood Benedict with dungeness crab, shrimp, and scallops in hollandaise sauce over poached eggs. Scrumptious!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.