We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Food is Awful -- So How Come We had Such a Good Time?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans Creole Restaurant - CLOSED

New Orleans Creole Restaurant
114 1st Ave S, Seattle, WA 98104-2502 (Downtown)
877-622-2563
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Tysons Corner VA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“The Food is Awful -- So How Come We had Such a Good Time?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Because the atmosphere, the service and the music is terrific, that's why. One does not come here for the food -- although the ribs are OK -- but for the fun. The young wait staff works very hard and is attentive, the jazz combos usually are topnotch local, and everyone seems to be in a good mood. Even a little dancing. Go, have a good time, eat a salad. You won't be sorry.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    20
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“September 18, 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Had dinner and listened to music. Good food. Service a little slow, only one server. The food was worth the wait. Drink too strong had to keep sending back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fun Music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We didn't eat here as the menu did not appeal to us, everything was fried. But we DID have a couple of drinks and came here 2 nights in a row for the free music, starting at 4pm. It was grat both nights....slow service.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Don't Miss the Monday Night Dixieland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This review is primarily about the Monday night Dixieland band. This group of fantastic musicians has been playing at the restaurant every Monday night for twenty-seven years. They really swing!
The food is OK, but I probably would not eat here unless there was music I wanted to hear. We had fried oysters and seafood etoufee, both of which were good. The appetizer plate of New Orleans starters was almost inedible. It tasted as if it had been sitting around a long time and then thrown in the microwave.
The service was slow but friendly. But don't go here in a rush. Go for the music and stay for a couple of sets.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilderland, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A fun night out for jazz and creole/cajun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

You can’t beat it for good food and entertainment. The entrees were delicious and plentiful and very reasonably priced. I had the jambalaya. We paid a $5 cover, had a few drinks, appetizers and entrees and still walked out with money in our pockets.

The music was great. Elnah Jordan can really belt out a song. If you are looking for a friendly, neighborhood atmosphere, you’ll find it here

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans Creole Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans Creole Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.