We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai for great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Tom

Thai Tom
4543 University Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4510 (University District)
206-548-9548
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #233 of 3,096 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Neighborhood: University District
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Thai for great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Tough to find a place (let alone Thai) that has better food for the price and speed. Not sure how Tom is able to keep up his pace for hour after hour, but the quality is consistently great. The wait for the food is usually pretty short, although the smells coming out of Tom's makes it a tough wait. The restaurant itself is somewhat dive-y, but you have the ability to watch your dish be cooked. I would recommend sitting at the bar/main table (but avoid the bar seats furthest into the restaurant - the edge is used for prep area for the food and waitresses will have to reach over/around you).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    30
    9
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious, fresh, unique Pad Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I checked out this U District hot spot last month. I thought Thai Tom's Pad Thai was simply the best, most flavorful and unique helping of Pad Thai that I've ever had. My husband, however, did not like the charred taste that accompanies the dish. The sauce is also a little different than most Thai places.

We got take out since the restaurant was full to the point of being obnoxious...I honestly don't think I could've squeezed through the restaurant to reach the counter and place an order. We're talking packed.

One complaint that we both had was that the lunch portions - though priced the same as a comparable sit down restaurant with huge portions - were the smallest we had ever seen at a Thai restaurant. This didn't bother me so much but added to the reasons that my husband isn't keen on returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thai at it's best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Was recently in Seattle for a quick business trip and Thai Tom was 1 block over from my hotel (Hotel Deca - see separate review on this awesome hotel). Thai food is my absolute favorite and I am very hard to please in this category but Thai Tom was truly amazing. Incredibly small place, kinda divy, but the food was absolutely top notch. I stayed in Seattle for 4 nights and ate there 3 out of the 4. The pad thai, green curry, black pepper chicken and I believe it was the ginger chicken were all superb. Cooks were amazing. These guys were like well oiled machines behind the grill. Never seen anything quite like it. They have to be, obviously they are incredibly busy. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bankok in Seattle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I spent a few months living in Thailand last year and this place definitely gives some of the local, authentic places that I ate at there a run for their money. Needless to say the food is absolutely amazing and prepared by an all thai staff. Prices are super reasonable and portions huge. Yeah... getting seated kind of sucks and you're probably going to have to wait outside for a few minutes because there are only about 10 tables in the whole place.... but it's TOTALLY worth it. Make sure to bring cash as well because they don't accept card. The "phad see-yoo again" is amazing

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Best Thai Food Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

That is simply the best place to eat Thai Food at. Only problem you'll have to wait some time to get seated! However, it is totally worth it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Tom also viewed

 

Been to Thai Tom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Tom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.