We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hasn't changed a bit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wedgwood Broiler

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wedgwood Broiler
8230 35th Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98115-4817
206-523-1115
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,763 of 3,485 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Hamburgers, Steakhouse
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Hasn't changed a bit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

When some older friends treated us to their favorite after church spot we weren't expecting to go to our old neighborhood. It was surprising to see that the Broiler was still there. We had eaten there once when we lived in Wedgwood in the early 80's. At the time it was over our price range. The prices aren't cheap, but you definitely get what you pay for. The food is simple, American staples, but tastes better than the usual franchise fare. My husband got a huge omelet that came with an equally huge amount of hash browns. I ordered the Cheese, bacon and tomato sandwich. It was so big I could only finish half! Our friends ordered seafood dinners that came with baked potatoes. Be sure to ask for extra toppings. Next time I've got to try one! It was actually a nice change from our usual eclectic, exotic brunch choices. It is a little tired and worn and is definitely from another era. As an interracial couple we were treated like everyone else, even though the feel and décor are like going back in time. The staff is friendly and there is plenty of parking, another throwback to a bygone era!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“It's always 3am in 1964”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is my local joint. We're here at least once a week. So...where to start?

The best advice is: suspend all expectations. The Broiler needs to be taken entirely on its own terms. It makes no effort to conform its menu, its decor, or its service to any competitors -- and that's because it simply has no competitors. It exists in a time and place all its own -- a time and place where it's always three in the morning in 1964. Over the dark, windowless rooms and the worn upholstery, you half expect to see LBJ on the bar TV, and hear the Beatles on the jukebox. And isn't that Don Draper in a dark corner booth, plying his latest girlfriend with the Broiler bar's great, cheap Manhattans?

The dining room menu hasn't changed in the last 50 years, either (except, maybe, the prices). It's sturdy American meat-and-potates diner fare, delivered without apologies. (I'm irrationally fond of enchilada night; but they're serious about their pot roast and prime rib, too.) The servers have been here for years, and are known by the neighborhood. The place is so dated that it's gone around and come out again on the hip side.

You wouldn't expect to find such a fun time capsule of a place stashed on a quiet street in a remote Seattle suburb. There aren't many reasons for anybody to trek out to Wedgwood for anything; but this and the Fiddler's tavern are two pretty decent ones.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good "comfort food" sort of place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

For those of us old enough, this is somewhat like a trip back to the 1970s in terms of decor and the restaurant experience, from the servers (older) to the seating (upholstery) to the type of food (comfort food) to the environment (darkened) to the amount of food (not too little, but no leftovers). The food is good, the service average, and it's a good neighborhood choice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just Like Granpa Used to Like”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

What can you say about a place that hasn't updated its look since it was built in what looks like the early 70's. This is not a bad thing. Wood paneling and brick. Old school booths and solid wooden chairs that have been burnished by years of use.

All the things above add to the sense of nostalgia that the Wedgewood Broiler evokes. this is the kind of place that my grand parents would take us for special occasions and we would sit around drinking glasses of milk while the grown ups sucked down highballs and questionable wine.

The menu is somewhat limited but it is what I expected steaks, a few burgers and a few "healthy" options. I had a NY Strip and it was slightly over cooked. The baked potato came out with just butter on it which I thought was weird. The veggies were quite frankly tired looking. My brother and I ordered beers and it tasted like the draft lines needed to be cleaned.

The high point of the experience was the bread. A huge loaf of piping hot crusty goodness served with tub of whipped butter. Nice.

The low point was the smell of acetone creeping through the wall from the nail salon next door.

I would go back but I would sit in the lounge.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Little hidden treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Fast service, great steaks, large portions, excellent prices, friendly staff & patrons. Lots of blue haired patrons frequent this hidden treasure & it's because of the cheap prices & good food. It's not the most exciting place to dine, but it's a great bargain. 18oz filet minion meal for two (includes potato, salad, veggies & bread for two people) only $39. That's a great deal & the steak was excellent! The ambiance is somewhat of an old folks but who cares if you're going with friends or partner.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wedgwood Broiler also viewed

 

Been to Wedgwood Broiler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wedgwood Broiler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.