We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food with a view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salty's Seafood Grills

Salty's Seafood Grills
1936 Harbor Ave SW, Seattle, WA 98116
(206) 937-1600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Salty's Seafood Grills is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #85 of 3,082 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Scenic view, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: West Seattle Bridge
Transit: Bus or take the Elliott Bay Water Taxi from downtown Seattle Pier 50 to Seacrest Park. We're just a 5-minute walk from the pier.
Description: Located on Elliott Bay with sweeping views of the Seattle skyline, Salty's is "One of the world's great view restaurants," says a local critic. This restaurant wins annual awards for the Nation's Best Sunday brunch, Seattle's best seafood, best view restaurant, best outdoor dining. Whether dressed up or casual, in the dining room, on the deck, or in private dining rooms, guests love Salty's for fresh Northwest seafood, wild Alaskan salmon and halibut in season, live Dungeness crab, fresh Northwest oysters, clams and mussels, USDA prime charbroiled steaks, gourmet lunch salads and sandwiches and refreshing creative cocktails. Live music in the Cafe-Bar Mondays and Fridays. Happy Hour from 3:00 to 6:00 pm Monday to Friday, Cafe-Bar only.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Food with a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time at Salty's. The food rivaled the view of the Seattle skyline. Wow! First, I recommend you make a reservation for a table next to the glass. While there is technically a view of Seattle from most of the tables/booths, there is a row of tables immediately adjacent to the window over looking Elliott Bay. This is where you want to sit! The menu is stacked with fresh and regional seafood options. You seemingly can't go wrong anywhere on the menu. The wine and beer selection was good, and while we didn't eat dessert the selections looked so yummy. If you are in Seattle I recommend you drive over the West Seattle bridge and eat at Salty's. Then walk off your dinner with a stroll along the path in Alki Beach. And prepare to be inspired by the food, view and vibe of Alki!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    181
    80
    37
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Gourmet with a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Cannot eat seafood but came here with family and still had plenty of menu choices to choose from! wonderful view of downtown Seattle! Helpful staff. I had chicken with figs and rainbow potatoes! Had the Gran Marnier cheesecake for dessert. Pure bliss!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food and fantastic view of Seattle across Elliot Bay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stopped here for lunch on our last day in Seattle. A fantastic view of Seattle from across Elliot Bay. A short wait and then seated at a table with a perfect view. We ordered open faced crab melt, fish and chips, razor clam po boy, and seattles best hot dog. All delicious! Also had a cup of their chowder (so so) and the crab cake (scrumptious). Server forget those, otherwise service was fine. Prices a little high but worth it considering the view.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Views, Food, and Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This place was outstanding! The view is top notch. I can't think of many places that can rival it. You look out across the water at the whole of Seattle Skyline. Catch it at night when the lights come out, that's a scene to see.

The wait staff is friendly and attentive and the food is as fresh as you can get anywhere. I had the halibut with Bearnaise and it was it so good. When your crab soup is served up and the waitress makes sure to ask if you would like a touch of sherry and some cracked ground pepper that is always a good sign.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“wonderful brunch !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This restaurant is in a nice area by the water with killer views of downtown Seattle. We had a reservation for Sunday brunch and when we went, the place was just getting busy for lunch. There was about a 5 minute wait before we were seated but we didn't mind, there was coffee/juice/muffins and scones to eat while you wait. The scones were good, we even took a few to go. I mostly ate seafood, there were 2 types of crabs, Alaskan and Dungeness, chilled shrimp, salmon and shell fish. I was very satisfied with what I had. In addition, they also have an omelette bar, pasta bar, oyster bar and pancake station.

The doughnuts they serve as you get seated are to die for ! really !! We asked our server to get us more and my husband also got one more plate. The dessert spread was awesome, all the fruits we tried were sweet and fresh, out daughter loved the chocolate fountain. If I could only only eat one dessert, it would probably be the flan, one of the best I've tasted in a while. Service was good, considering how busy the restaurant was, our dirty plates were cleared away promptly and our server remembered to fill up our drinks every time.

What I don't like about Salty's: the line to the seafood buffet can be long and slow, and that's because some people take 10 min picking out the best crab portions ! We were also told by the lady out front that they ask people with reservations to keep their dining time to 1.5 hrs, although no one would kick us out or anything if we go over. Having said that, there was another lady with a clipboard and pen going around the restaurant and eyeing the tables, probably trying to figure out the seating chart. I wouldn't have minded if she was just a bit more discreet about what she's doing.

Overall, a nice splurge on our vacation. I would come back next time we're in Seattle.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salty's Seafood Grills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salty's Seafood Grills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.