We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time, not the last” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chinook's

Chinook's
1900 W Nickerson Street, Seattle, WA 98119-1661
(206) 283-4665
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #177 of 3,491 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $1 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“First time, not the last”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I had the opportunity to get dinner at Chinook's recently and enjoyed the whole experience. We sat in a booth overlooking the fishing piers with what must have been over 1,000 fishing boats at dock. So the view was entertaining.
We happened to hit the place on a Monday night and enjoyed the all-you-can-eat fish and chips. The fish was perfectly done and not greasy, chips were the same. It came with a generous side of yummy coleslaw. I had a very good Hornitos margarita and my companion had a nice glass of local red wine. Service was friendly and thorough, and the manager even came by to encourage us to ask for her if we needed anything.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    69
    16
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Place to Go For Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I've lived near and dined at Chinook's for over 18 years and I have to say the food is consistently good. They specialize in seafood but they do have a few non-seafood choices on their menu. I have so many "favorites" on their menu - the fresh grilled Idaho trout, the seafood fettucine, the crab and shrimp salad, the cioppino, and of course, that wonderful warm seasoned bread they bring out for everybody to enjoy. In March they do a nice thing and have "Oyster Madness" for the whole month. It's great - they make one of the best oyster shooters called "90 Proof Oyster Shooters" - they are oysters with Stoli citron vodka, a touch of cocktail sauce and a squeeze of lemon. They are devine! The other great thing about Chinook's is the ambience. The nice things - they are busy and bustling and its a nice atmosphere. There are also good views of the water and boats from most spots in the main room. The down side is they have very good acoustics in that room and it does get rather loud in there. If you are with several people, it can be hard to hear everybody talk. But I think their food and their service more than make up for the noise factor. Great food, everytime. I always look forward to eating out at Chinook's!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Consistently great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I've been eating here for many years and continue to be amazed at how consistent this place remains.Great food. Attentive service. Reasonably priced. You can even make a meal out of the happy hour menu. Every member of the staff is great and Patrick the bartender is a standout. It can be very noisy but what else is new in Seattle restaurants. The chocolate cake for dessert almost earns them a 5th star.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traverse city
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Oysters, salmon, shimp and more oysters..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Great rustic boat dock view of random fishing boats.. Food was great, awesome oysters, and samon tacos. Very pleasant staff, great soup. Server was quick to find answers that she did not know... Great lunch...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Busy Friday night dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We were in Seattle to visit some family and the first night in town we went to Chinooks. The food overall was pretty good, I had the mahi mahi tacos and the bleu cheese/romaine salad. The dressing was overly mayonnaisey, not enough bleu cheese flavor. The fish in tacos was cooked perfectly but they could stand to put a bit more flavor in the sauce. The server was very attentive even though it was extremely busy. I will definitely go back when I'm in town.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinook's also viewed

 

Been to Chinook's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinook's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.