We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touch of UK in Seattle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant & Castle

Elephant & Castle
1415 5th Ave, Seattle, WA 98101-2313 (Downtown)
206-624-9977
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #639 of 3,492 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Touch of UK in Seattle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Typical Uk menu available at the bar restaurant . Good beers brewed locally. Yorkshire Pudding filled with beef was excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    75
    49
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not Half Bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stumbled upon Elephant & Castle while wandering around downtown looking for dinner. I was seated quickly, and noticed soon after by the waiter. I ordered shepards pie, by his suggestion, which was really good! I am picky about this dish because it can often times be too greasy, but I was quite pleased with theirs. Overall, the menu is priced fairly, and I appreciated that they had a decent selection of pub food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pestered at Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We sat outside because it was so nice out. The food was average as was the price. The street people came round to use the bathroom in the restaurant and grab food from plates. While I was eating one of them kept asking are you done with that? He sat at the table next to us and watched me eat waiting for me to be done so he could snag my plate. The staff did nothing. I did not feel safe and relaxed all I wanted to do was gulp and leave.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ersatz Pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

In the basement of our hotel, OK bar food, like soup, salad, and burgers. Totally out of keeping with the contemporary Motif above.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connersville, Indiana, Usa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome food and atmoshere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We went to lunch at this restaurant after landing in SeaTac and checking in to the Crowne Plaza downtown. It was about a 10 minute walk, which was nice to see sights and learn what was around you. At first I worried about the service, but the waiter then got help and everything was wonderful. We were a group of 8 and some had some beers on tap which they liked, some ordered there onion soup, AWESOME. Then what we came for Fish & Chips, not disappointed as they were delicious. Others in our party got the Rueben was good but I thought fish & chips were better. Prices and selection very good for the area. Even kids liked it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant & Castle also viewed

 

Been to Elephant & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant & Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.