We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast food fresh and delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ivar's Seafood Bar

Ivar's Seafood Bar
401 NE Northlake Way, Seattle, WA 98105-6818 (Lake Union)
(206) 632-7223
Improve this listing
Ranked #313 of 3,123 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Chowder, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Lake Union
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fast food fresh and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Even though it's fried it tasted great not greasy. I had the haddock with a cup of clam chowder GREAT!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    65
    29
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
114 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fun and a Seattle Tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Ivar's is, of course, a Seattle tradition. So during our recent stay in the Pacific Northwest, we had lunch at Ivar's on Northlake. What a hoot!! The place has just been expanded with new decorations to capture the Pacific Northwest flavor. And they have accomplished this in spades, down to the Native American kayaks hanging from the ceilings to the totem poles at the entry. The view of metro-Seattle up Lake Union is perfect, as is the boat and sea plane action on the lake. Oh, the food....??? Well, it is Ivar's. The clam chowder was solid and the Crab Louie's were good. This is a fun place and it was great to return here after many years in New England.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Where the locals go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Ivars is a local place, with a fast food area in the front where you can pick up dinner and take it home, and a full resturant and bar in the back. Food was great, Copper River salmon was out, but the Coho and Sockeye were fresh and very well prepared and delicious. Fresh baked bread and a pretty decent Bloody Mary cocktail topped it off. Since a friend told us about it, we were lucky to sit on the view side and watched the sunset, beautiful view of the harbor.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Father's Day Brunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Is a must ! Make it an annual happening. All the seafood plus more tradional brunch choices than you can imagine or even sample. Save room for the Bananas foster. YUM

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Delicious Seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I loved the fried oysters at Ivars. The crabmeat cocktail was quite generous and delicious as well. We ate at the seafood bar and in the restaurant and enjoyed both experiences.
The seafood bar is very casual: you eat outside by the water. We fed whatever was left (french fries) to the seagulls and they were masters at getting their feed.
We had very nice service in the restaurant. Our server was very attentive. The portions were generous and fairly priced.
If I were to find fault with anything, it would be with the bread. A crusty, chewy bread or OTC crackers are so good with seafood.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ivar's Seafood Bar also viewed

 

Been to Ivar's Seafood Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivar's Seafood Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.