We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, fun atmosphere, excellent service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Kitchen

Palace Kitchen
2030 5th Ave, Seattle, WA 98121-2505 (Belltown)
206-448-2001
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Palace Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #81 of 3,087 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Belltown
Eltopia, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, fun atmosphere, excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We were in Seattle for the Apple Cup game, and the very nice young man at Hotel Five front desk recommended this restaurant, saying it is his favorite place to eat - well now it is my favorite too!! Must try the lavender goat cheese fondue(I know, sounds strange, but tastes heavenly), and they make the best hamburger I have ever had, bar none. Seriously.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    114
    33
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellensburg, Washington
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

For the price, I wasn't impressed. For one thing, we ordered an olive popper appetizer and got five olives. They were excellent, breaded and hot and delicious, but still. Five olives for $15? Ugh. The salmon was amazing. I had warm beets with some almonds and vinaigrette. I thought it was supposed to be a salad. We had a tiny dessert and I left still hungry.

Great atmosphere- kind of dark but in a warm way, good service and I enjoyed the variety of people seated all around us.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“One of our favorite restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a fabulous restaurant, especially in the cold months, for delicious comfort food. The trout is not to be missed. The wine list is exceptionally good, too. Every time we go I feel warm and comforted.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Late night stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stopped in after a show for drinks and dessert. It is a great evening stop with a unique atmosphere. It is dark with good back lighting and the kitchen is open so you can see everything being prepared. Music was canned but not to loud or over whelming, and they played a lot of our favorite tunes in their mix. Server was friendly and attentive but not overly so. Our desserts were really good. A huge piece of coconut cream pie made in house will make this a regular stop for me when I'm in the neighborhood. We also had the pear tart with pear sorbet, the pear tart was good and the sorbet was amazing. The drink menu was creative and the poor was generous. This would be a great place to come with friends and hang for an evening. I look forward to trying more of their menu offerings.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a late-night stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We're often at Seattle Center for evening events, and when we aren't rushing for the ferry or too tired to talk we find ourselves heading down Fifth Street to Palace Kitchen for a late-night 'meal' that might be chicken wings (spicy, rich, wonderful), the 'plin' (little ravioli, again rich, buttery, delicious) with a glass of one of the quite decent house reds -- or we might just go for dessert, which can include their ever-reliable coconut cream pie but last night included a Mexican chocolate pot du creme and a superb pecan pie with vanilla ice cream. The restaurant can be busy and crowded, but they always seem to fit us in. There's a very high-spirited bar scene with the predictable variety of spirits. Wine list is decent, offering a relatively short list of little-known wineries at very good price. It is an utterly likable place -- good vibe, friendly and attentive staff, and a great way to wind up a lovely evening on the town. And it lets a couple of old folks from Bainbridge Island feel like they're part of 'the scene'. Great fun.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palace Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Palace Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.