We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crab cakes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lowell's Restaurant

Lowell's Restaurant
1519 Pike Pl, Seattle, WA 98101 (Downtown)
206-622-2036
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #496 of 3,563 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Downtown
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Crab cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Man it's sea food in Seattle. Best crab cakes I ever had. Salmon is so good and the drinks are great! Just eat here you'll love it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    296
    111
    36
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, OH
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent view of Elliott Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Pike Place Market has many food choices. Lowell's was reasonably priced and tasty. We had the clam chowder and deep fried cod and enjoyed both. The restaurant occupies three floors all facing the water. Complete table service is on the 2nd floor only. Otherwise, the customer places his order at the counter on the first floor and finds a seat on levels one or three and hard working waiters bring the food to the table. Seems complicated, but it works. We would eat there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast with a great view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We were almost first in to Lowell's on July 4th and had a great breakfast looking out of the top floor windows. The food was excellent and there was plenty of choice too, coffee was good as well. I can't recommend it highly enough to first time Seattle visitors, and it's especially good if you can make it there early (7am open) as you can get to see the Pike Place market before it is swamped with other tourists.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great view, and a nice breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

It's ALL about the view, so the perfectly cooked, ample breakfasts were just a bonus. My husband had French toast, and I had the Market Breakfast; we did not leave hungry! Service was great, and since it wasn't very busy (we are early risers), the waitress chatted with us a little about things to do/see in Seattle. I loved that they kept my coffee cup full.

We came back another time just for coffee. On the 3rd floor you can refill your own cup at the station they have there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Breakfast spot with personality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is a breakfast spot with personality - not your mass market Denny's nor your trendy brunch restaurant with table clothes, a rose on the table, and dainty meals.

Situated in Seattle's Pike Street Market, an indoor farmers' market lined with produce and seafood, customers line up outside to watch the massive grill overladen with hashbrowns, pancakes, eggs, and other traditional breakfast items and then (with appetite whetted) give their orders to a tattooed, pierced but pretty and friendly woman at the till. The smiling kitchen staff work at a frenetic pace and the servers carry giant trays laden with 6 or 7 platters of food held one-handed above their heads as they move among the 3 separate floors of the restaurant.

Guests sit on chrome-surrounded diner stools from the 1950's that sometimes wobble slightly showing their age. There are no white table clothes, just faded gray table-tops with a tray of condiments and a napkin dispenser. Cutlery is serve yourself.

But then, showing that the restaurant is set in Cascadia, there is the Seattle harbour view out the windows and..... they have an espresso machine so that you can enjoy your Latte' while reading the paper.

The portions could be larger, the service a bit quicker, but those are very minor limitations. Better for us all to eat less and slow down in any event. I go to Lowell's every time I am in Seattle.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lowell's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lowell's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lowell's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.