We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting, wonderful service and food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ray's Boathouse Restaurant, Cafe & Catering

Ray's Boathouse Restaurant, Cafe & Catering
6049 Seaview Ave NW, Seattle, WA 98107-2658
206-789-3770
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ray's Boathouse Restaurant, Cafe & Catering is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #172 of 3,508 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $12 - $65
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Market St.
Transit: Metro Bus #86,Seaview Ave. NW Stop
Description: A Seattle icon since 1973, Ray’s Boathouse, Café & Catering is internationally renowned for its unparalleled Northwest seafood and breathtaking waterfront view of Puget Sound and the Olympic Mountains. Ray’s Boathouse is comfortably elegant, serving refined sustainable seafood, local meats and produce, and an extensive list of Northwest wines nightly. Ray’s Cafe is lively and fun, serving casual regional fare for lunch and dinner, with seasonal outdoor dining and a popular Happy Hour twice daily. Ray’s Catering offers professional full-service catering and a beautiful waterfront banquet room that is perfect for social and corporate entertaining.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting, wonderful service and food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were a party of six and with a wheelchair so it worked out best to have a reservation. It was lunchtime, so we ate at the Cafe. It was a gorgeous day, so wonderful to sit outside and enjoy the view! The service was very friendly and getting the wheelchair in/out was quite easy. Everyone enjoyed the meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    198
    75
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Old Favorite Disappoints”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Ray's Boathouse is a fixture in Seattle and trying to get in without a reservation on a sunny summer day is challenging. We usually dine upstairs at the café which has deck dining overlooking the water and a diverse menu. But last night we dined in the main dining room which has recently been revamped but still has the water view but no outdoor option. The dining room menu is fairly small featuring mostly seafood with an assortment of "small plates" (appetizers) as well as a few salads and the entrees which are fairly expensive (four large sea scallops with some greens on the plate - $34). The overall experience however was quite disappointing. One of the four of us ordered a Tanqueray gin and tonic and was brought a pink concoction which we were told was "their own tonic water". It was pretty undrinkable and she asked for conventional tonic. She was then brought a drink that turned out to be gin and club soda (I tasted it and it was definitely not tonic). The third try was OK and the waitress said, "he must have grabbed the wrong bottle when mixing it". The glasses of wine we ordered were priced fairly and were tasty and generous pours. We asked for Caesar salad to start and when we asked, were told the salad was served with whole romaine leaves, not cut up. We asked that the romaine be cut up and she said she would order it that way. When our three "Caesar" salads were served they were made with cut up leaf lettuce, not romaine. Evidently it was too much trouble for the kitchen to cut up the romaine when the leaf lettuce was already ready to serve. When I said to the waitress "this is not romaine" she answered, These are the baby leaves of romaine - when it was clearly leaf lettuce. At $11 a plate for a pre-dinner salad, I expected better than that. When we asked for bread for the table we were told it is on the menu and you can order it if you like. We did order it and I do not know if it was added to the bill as another companion paid the bill. The steamed mussels and clams were OK but no bowls were served to put the shells into and we were told to use the plate that held the bowl for shells. The scallops were pronounced to be delicious. All in all, I expected better from an old favorite which has always been a "go to" place for summer dining. I think I will stick to the upstairs more casual café next time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, MA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great waterfront view, particular on Sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I enjoy the view and the location of this restaurant better than the food itself. If you are not hungry, just order a drink and enjoy the sunset during the summer warming weather...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Great Waterfront Location; Prices Very High”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were generally happy with our dinner at Ray's Boathouse. The evening was beautiful and we enjoyed pre-dinner drinks on the deck. A very cool touch was that the hostess went around handing out sunglasses to those who needed them. Nice customer service! Our dinner was good; not excellent. It seemed very overpriced (entrees starting at $30+ and going up to $63), and the typical bread basket that most restaurants include with dinner was an extra $3. I had the pasta with crab which came with a lot of corn - an odd addition to pasta. It was o.k. Before our entrees were served, the Manager came to explain that our chicken had looked overcooked and she didn't want to serve it like that, so a new one was being prepared. She offered a complimentary Caesar salad for the wait. Again, nice touch. The Chocolate Feuilletine was good, as was the Strawberry Mousse, but again, tiny portions and very expensive. The view is awesome and service was excellent, but those high prices will keep us away.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“View, view, view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Although the food at this restaurant isn't flying off the charts creative or the latest in foodie trends it is a icon Seattle restaurant that is worth the visit with an incredible deck and views over the water facing West. The food is consistent and I don't think I have ever had bad service-they do make a good cocktail with fresh juice and is still one of my favorite summer and fall restaurants in Seattle.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's Boathouse Restaurant, Cafe & Catering also viewed

 

Been to Ray's Boathouse Restaurant, Cafe & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ray's Boathouse Restaurant, Cafe & Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.