We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Ballard tradition” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Besalu

Cafe Besalu
5909 24th Ave NW, Seattle, WA 98107-3207 (Ballard)
206-789-1463
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 131 Bakeries in Seattle
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Ballard
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A great Ballard tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I live in the area...maybe I should not share this with newbies. But this place offers great pastries and good strong coffee. If you must get your buttery fix, their croissants are tops.
Check their hours...they are not open long hours,or even every day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    9
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It is as good as everybody says.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

And, anybody who mentioned this place to me could only use extreme exaggeration to describe the amazing pastries. They were right.

Yes, the coffee is good to.

Get there early, you're guaranteed to have to wait in line.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious french pastries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Staying at the brother-in-law's place and Café Besalu is block and 1/2 away. Just walking up to the place you can smell the pastries. It's a small cozy place, and both mornings we walked there a line was already in place. We ordered different things so we could taste a variety. Got the croissants, blueberry Danish, sacristan, pain au raisin, and those checkerboard shortbread cookies. The Danish & croissant were warm just from the oven. They were flaky & moist and delicious with a cup of coffee. Hope to come back to try other goodies like the peach quiches that we saw.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great croissants!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Whenever I come to Seattle, Besalu is one of the first places I visit. Their croissants are great, there better than most of the ones that I have tried in France. The gruyere pastries are also excellent. he place itself is not great, but the coffee is good. There is always long line, but the croissants justify them,

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A small, Ballard-ish bakery, terrific croissants!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Croissants so good they are probably biasing my review...great coffee 40 feet away...other great baked goods but the butter flowing through my veins is all I can see...or maybe its diabetes...

Golden crispy pillows that explode into a million shards of melt in my mouth shrapnel...innards like tender salty clouds of butter held together by, just enough flour... Raspberry preserves, coffee...a fantastic soul enriching experience...oops, got carried away.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Besalu also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Besalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Besalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.