We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Show this place off to your friends.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chandler's Crabhouse

Chandler's Crabhouse
901 Fairview Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109 (Lake Union)
(206) 223-2722
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chandler's Crabhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 3,431 restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $21 - $35
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Lake Union
Cross street: Aloha
Transit: South Lake Union Street Car
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Show this place off to your friends.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Chandlers would be my favorite restaurant on the lake if not for Joey's being right next door. Chandlers gets a leg up (actually lots of them) on Joey's by having live crab in a tank next to the kitchen. They also have a great variety of live shellfish. The menu is good, with a focus on seafood. The view isn't quite as good as Joey's unless you're next to the window, or outside in summer, because it's not raised up or tiered like Joey's. The service is top notch, the food is good, and there's ample parking. I tend to go to Chandler's once for every two times I go to Joey's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    103
    87
    21
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh seafood with lovely outside seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our group of six adults and one three-year old enjoyed a delicious, although expensive dinner: all the seafood entrees were fresh and well-prepared: ceviche, halibut, Copper River salmon, tuna, and cioppino. The child's plate featured a beautiful piece of salmon, mashed potatoes and a green vegetable and was a great bargain at $6.00 Wine and key lime pie rounded out a good meal.

Sitting on the dock, watching boats and seaplanes come and go is very relaxing. Proximity to the Marriott Residence Inn across the street is a bonus: no need to drive and park.

A very pleasant place for both adults and a young child to enjoy a fine dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood option in south Lake Union”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I have celebrated 2 anniversaries at Chandler's Crabhouse over the past few years. Each time, they don't disappoint! The service and food is excellent. Being along south Lake Union also sets for a relaxing atmosphere. On a nice day, ask to be seated on the west side where seaplanes take off and land nearby.
Their sister restaurant, Daniel's Broiler is also nearby. While Daniel's specialized in red meat, Chandler's excels in seafood. They also have a minimum array of red meat dishes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Seattle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

One of the best meals I have had. I had the Copper River Salmon and it was excellent. Service was great and we were outside and had a beautiful view. It was nice to watch the boats come in and out.

We even tried the crab ice cream. It was interesting. Tasted like good ice cream, smelled a little like crab, but not really crab tasting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Simply Awesome, but bring a bunch of money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Probably one of the best meals I have ever had in my life.

Service was exceptional, food was top notch. As the old saying goes, you get what you pay for and you definitely pay a hefty price for the food, but it is worth it.

Great view of the boats in and Lake Union itself.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chandler's Crabhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chandler's Crabhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.