We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Show this place off to your friends.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chandler's Crabhouse

Chandler's Crabhouse
901 Fairview Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109 (Lake Union)
(206) 223-2722
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chandler's Crabhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #110 of 3,099 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Lake Union
Cross street: Aloha
Transit: South Lake Union Street Car
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Show this place off to your friends.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Chandlers would be my favorite restaurant on the lake if not for Joey's being right next door. Chandlers gets a leg up (actually lots of them) on Joey's by having live crab in a tank next to the kitchen. They also have a great variety of live shellfish. The menu is good, with a focus on seafood. The view isn't quite as good as Joey's unless you're next to the window, or outside in summer, because it's not raised up or tiered like Joey's. The service is top notch, the food is good, and there's ample parking. I tend to go to Chandler's once for every two times I go to Joey's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    124
    37
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh seafood with lovely outside seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our group of six adults and one three-year old enjoyed a delicious, although expensive dinner: all the seafood entrees were fresh and well-prepared: ceviche, halibut, Copper River salmon, tuna, and cioppino. The child's plate featured a beautiful piece of salmon, mashed potatoes and a green vegetable and was a great bargain at $6.00 Wine and key lime pie rounded out a good meal.

Sitting on the dock, watching boats and seaplanes come and go is very relaxing. Proximity to the Marriott Residence Inn across the street is a bonus: no need to drive and park.

A very pleasant place for both adults and a young child to enjoy a fine dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
141 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood option in south Lake Union”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I have celebrated 2 anniversaries at Chandler's Crabhouse over the past few years. Each time, they don't disappoint! The service and food is excellent. Being along south Lake Union also sets for a relaxing atmosphere. On a nice day, ask to be seated on the west side where seaplanes take off and land nearby.
Their sister restaurant, Daniel's Broiler is also nearby. While Daniel's specialized in red meat, Chandler's excels in seafood. They also have a minimum array of red meat dishes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Seattle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

One of the best meals I have had. I had the Copper River Salmon and it was excellent. Service was great and we were outside and had a beautiful view. It was nice to watch the boats come in and out.

We even tried the crab ice cream. It was interesting. Tasted like good ice cream, smelled a little like crab, but not really crab tasting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Simply Awesome, but bring a bunch of money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Probably one of the best meals I have ever had in my life.

Service was exceptional, food was top notch. As the old saying goes, you get what you pay for and you definitely pay a hefty price for the food, but it is worth it.

Great view of the boats in and Lake Union itself.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chandler's Crabhouse also viewed

 

Been to Chandler's Crabhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chandler's Crabhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.