We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dinner in Seattle!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shucker's

Shucker's
411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101 (Downtown)
(206) 621-1984
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Shucker's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 3,429 restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 4th Ave
Description: Boasting the beautifully carved oak paneling and unique tin ceiling of the haberdashery it once was in the 1930's, Shuckers is one of Seattle's oldest and most pre-eminent oyster bars. With a daily menu featuring a selection of fresh fish and seafood, Shuckers brims with 13 different kinds of oysters prepared nine different ways and features local artisan microbrews. The Zagat 2005 Restaurant Survey coins Shuckers as a 'Seattle classic' that is one of the 'best seafood restaurants in town' with 'great ambiance' and 'excellent service.'
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best dinner in Seattle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a must try in Seattle. It is in a beautiful setting. The Fairmont Olympic. Outstanding service. Outstanding and fresh seafood. Everything is good. Great cocktails too. Very busy and loud.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    130
    81
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Northwest Seafood Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Seafood served here are the freshest, real high quality. The service, always the best, friendly, yet professional. Very good crowd, real high class atmosphere. Love it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service, expensive!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Don't get me wrong- I love a great meal and certainly don't mind paying for it. But I want it to be worth the price. The fresh oysters were awesome. The cocktails were great. Then.... We waited.... And waited... Then....a nice salad..... Then. waited... And waited..... 2 hours later (no exaggeration)- we got our mains. My dad and I had the mixed seafood grill- they forgot his salmon- which was fine since mine stunk (too over cooked). Mom loved her crab and hubby liked his chicken.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Solid seafood restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

There were some nice dishes (grilled halibut, starter of Dungess crab and artichoke gratin) and good service. The portions were enormous however and the food tended to be rich and heavy - the Dungeness crab mac and cheese, for example, that came with the halibut. We paid $152 for two courses for 2, pre-service, which felt expensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

On our last Seattle visit, we twice dined at Shucker's. Service and food was exceptional in a city of many fine restaurants.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shucker's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shucker's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.