We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic classic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Puerco Lloron - CLOSED

El Puerco Lloron
1501 Western Ave Ste 200, Seattle, WA 98101 (Downtown)
(203) 624-0541
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Downtown
Missoula, MT
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Authentic classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

Hand made tortillas, simple menu, great food and it feels like u r in Mexico. Been going there since 1985. Every time I'm in Seattle. Always makes me smile.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Mexican place in Seattle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I moved to Seattle four years ago from Southern California (LA area), and my girlfriend has been here for 7 years now (originally from San Diego). After having looked far and wide for several years now, both independently and as a couple, we can say without a doubt that El Puerco Lloron is *the* best mexican food in Seattle. Handmade tortillas to order should be enough, but in case it's not: it's well-priced, the older hispanic couple that owns it is totally awesome and very nice, they have all the legitimate-actual-mexican dishes you could want, you can see the water from their giant windows, and everything (not just the tortillas) is mega fresh. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Can easily understand why people say this is the best Mexican in Seattle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

One of the problems living close to the Canadian border is that it's hard to find authentic Mexican food (in contrast to the southern states, for example). Taco Bell or Taco Del Mar just don't cut it. That's why my wife and I were delighted to stumble on to this great restaurant! El Puerco Lloron is located on Western Avenue, just below (Sound-side) of Pike's Market. It's just off a pedestrian stairway so you might need to look around to see it but don't give up. It's well worth finding. The food is absolutely fantastic! I ordered the carne asade; my wife had carnitas. Both were fabulous, as were the salsa and guacamole. Tables and decore are simple, but who cares? I'm there to eat, not caress oak.

Thanks staff and cooks at El Puerco Lloron, for a delightful and flavorful meal! We'll be back again!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Left Coast
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Nothing is fresh - A Mexican cafeteria”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

The food is served cafeteria style in that you order out of bins of warm food previously prepared. The upside is that it is relatively healthy compared to what you might find up at the market or down below on the pier.
The interior is a little ghetto, but almost in keeping the the style of a lower class eatery. The mis-matched tables and utensiles in caddis on the tables, and general layout reminded me of lunch counters in Mexico. But the food was lacking in flavor compared to what I would find down south.
If you are between Pike Place Market and the Seattle Aquarium, this is a good place to grab a plate of beans and rice to fuel you through the day. If you want to enjoy some mexican food, go someplace else.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“it used to be so good!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

what happened to one of our favorite little downtown restaurants? Went mid-week, not terribly busy. Woman tossed plates of food at us like she was working in a cafeteria & by her sour expression, a prison cafeteria. The presentation was sloppy, enchilada chicken dry & "old," as were the chips & rice. Salsa was good, though.
Doubt that I will return!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Puerco Lloron also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Puerco Lloron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.