We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No go for Zoe.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Zoe

Restaurant Zoe
1318 East Union St, Seattle, WA 98121-2207
206-256-2060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Zoe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #199 of 3,488 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 14 Ave
Transit: Bus #2
Description: Recognized as one of The 10 Very Best Restaurants of 2005 by Seattle Magazine and one of the top five for new American cuisine by the 2008 Zagat Survey, Restaurant Zoe is a favorite destination for locals and visitors alike. Located on the corner of 14th and Union St on Capitol Hill, Restaurant Zoe's lively urban setting provides the backdrop for Chef Scott Staple's seasonally crafted, produce-driven fare.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No go for Zoe.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We are world travelers, live in both Seattle and Puerto Vallarta. After hearing raves about Zoe, we took guests there. First off, crazy noisy. Second, expensive for the portions for most items. We were there at 7:30 pm and our guest who was celebrating her birthday ordered beet salad and the small plate of mussels and clams. Oh sorry, the waiter comes back to tell us the restaurant ran out of the mussels. That's what she really wanted. But she settled for just clams. A small plate it was. Two others preferred the signature hamburger. This was a generous entre. They liked the burger, but the fries were over-cooked. Kind of hard and crunchy. I had a nice duck breast, cooked perfectly, but on a bed of turnips. It was an odd combination. I can think of so many things that would compliment the duck better. I probably won't return as there are so many other restaurants in our Pike-Pine neighborhood. Too bad.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    38
    19
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Everything was delicious. We had the roasted chickpeas (tasty and plenty for four to share) and the foie gras (wow!!) for starters. I had the mussels and clams, which were excellent, and my husband had the duck of the day, which was a confit; My one bite was amazingly good. The interior space with the high ceiling and view into the kitchen was great.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“RZ is top notch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Highly recommend! If you remember the past location, restaurant menu and styling....comparatively the new RZ is 'Modern Rustic", which is a refreshing change. Still a special spot but also a place where locals come for reliable food and service. This area of CapitolHill is stuffed with gastro pub hipster restaurants and RZ can compete. Personally, everything here is elegantly confident but their service staff is what sets them apart, you will be taken care of.
The menu is very thoughtful and not elaborate, making it simpler to decide on your choices while still staying involved with the table conversation.
Sage Margarita and Wood Hills Fire Burger (a burger at RZ...who knew!) we're really quite good, plus easier on the pocketbook.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our concierge recommended this place and it turned out to be our best meal in Seattle. Everything was perfectly cooked and they didn't balk at sharing - which is good because then I had room for the wonderful dessert!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Eclectic charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The resturant was fantastic from start to finish, appetizers fabulous, food divine and deserts incredible, and are server was more then perfect. Coming from a town were service food and atmosphere is a bit pretentious (miami) . It was so refreshing to see a place that was innovative, fresh and hip. There are sure a lot of places that can learn some things from you.
Seattle is just a wonderful place thank you!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Zoe also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Zoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Zoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.