We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our best dining experiences ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matt's in the Market

Matt's in the Market
94 Pike St Ste 32, Seattle, WA 98101-2066 (Downtown)
(206) 467-7909
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 3,440 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 1st. Ave.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“One of our best dining experiences ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough about Matt's. outstanding in every way. Very helpful wait staff and sommelier. They even made recommendations for other restaurants. Do not pass up the seafood stew. It's addictive. Can't wait to eat hear again on our next visit to Seattle.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    97
    37
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Go hungry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Made a lunch reservation at Matt's based on a recommendation from a friend that travels to Seattle monthly. We both had the halibut sandwich and it was delicious. I really wanted to try the pulled pork sandwich, but with a table right next to the kitchen we had the opportunity to see nearly every dish before ordering and the pork sand was ginormous! So, go hungry because the sandwiches were rather large (lamb burger looked fabulous too) and the side salad was a nice portion.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Delicious Meal from start to finish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Went here with my husband on a Tuesday. We didn't make reservations, figuring that Tuesday's aren't usually too busy. Well it was full! There are only maybe 20 tables or so, so make a reservation! We got lucky and a reservation cancelled! We sat with a view of the kitchen. A lot of people would want the window view, but we loved watching the masters at work! They literally make everything to order, and being that we love to cook it was awesome to watch them. Plus we got to see all the different dishes.

We ordered the grilled Octopus, it was amazing with homemade kimchi. Then we had the fried duck egg salad. It was also very good, though I might prefer a different green. It has frisee which is a little more bitter than I like. For the main course we had pork tenderloin. My favorite part was the fern fiddleheads! For dessert we had pistachio sorbet. It was a perfect end to the meal!

I really enjoyed the meal and love that they get almost everything from the market. After spending the day in the market it is great to enjoy some of its bounty, prepared by the masters of course!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Get a reservation, it's great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We nabbed a same-day 1:30 p.m. lunch reservation, and I'm glad we did because they were packed. We showed up early and had to wait til our time arrived. When it did, it was fantastic. The homemade chips and dip are killer. The pulled pork sandwich will keep you full for a solid 5 hours. Service was top notch. The view was nice, the ambiance fresh and clean and the vibe felt great. A bit pricey for me, but worth it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This restarants is pricy, but definitely worth it if you want fresh, local seafood, expertly prepared, in a perfect setting, overlooking Seattles Famous market. I had the halibut and my father had the scallops, they were the best we have ever had! Absolutely worth the splurge!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matt's in the Market also viewed

 

Been to Matt's in the Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matt's in the Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.