We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quiet Corner of the Market” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maximilien Restaurant

Maximilien Restaurant
81 Pike St, Ste a, Seattle, WA 98101 (Downtown)
(206) 682-7270
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Maximilien Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #195 of 3,492 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $30 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Pike Street and 1st Avenue
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Quiet Corner of the Market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Maximilien is tucked away on one end of the Pike Place Market, a charming refuge from the bustle of shoppers and restaurants in the main hall. I had a lovely late lunch here overlooking the water. Excellent wine list and beautifully prepared dishes are the order of the day. I had the onion soup (cup or bowl are both available) and a truly delicious salmon with potatoes dauphinoise and haricots verts. The vibe is a bit more elegant here than Cafe Campagne, but no less friendly. Highly recommended, especially for a romantic outing.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    67
    27
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The obligatory rude maitre d' --But we still had a nice time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We happened across Maximilien, a charming French restaurant at Pike Place Market. French? At Pike Place Market? Who would've known? (I guess I should have known -- They've been there for over 30 years.)
And, truly, it was SO French! Almost a caricature of what Americans say they always experience in Paris -- starting right out with the obligatory rude maitre d'. He certainly did not make us feel welcome. He seated us at the absolutely worst table (we requested the rooftop, since it was a rare brilliant day of sunshine in Seattle) and when we saw a couple of nicer ones available, he sniffed that they were reserved. (At 2:45? On a Saturday?) We did move to a 4th, considerably better, table location, and the "reserved" tables sat empty almost until we had finished our lunch.
The experience went up from there. Our waitress was lovely, very sweet, very French (and quite fearful of the maitre d'), and helpful. When she learned that it was my husband's birthday she went out of her way to wish him "joyeux anniversaire" many times. And her service was excellent.
We had the standard French selections -- I know they're cliche, but I love them all. And all were presented extremely well: croque monsieur, escargots, soupe à l'oignon, bread & cheeses, French chardonnay.
We will deifinitely go back -- hopefully, sometime soon. I'll just have my fingers crossed for another maitre d'.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnsburg, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“nice location, good service, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The place is fine, not spectacular, good if you particularly like French restaurants. Service was very good, would go back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise and stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Restaurant in Pike Place Market. Down a corridor which does not look too appetising, but persist! You are in line for an unexpected treat. French cuisine. Delicious food and wine. Impeccable service. Smart and stylish. A really stunning dining room with views out over the water with the ferries coming and going. Amazing light coming in through picture windows. As it is a French restaurant, some of the wines were listed as coming from les Etats Unis!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
España
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Nice personnel. Good cook. Very good vista. Pictoresque place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

A pleasant experience if you go to the old market. Left end.
Service in Spanish, French and English.
Realliy good menu. And some good wines, I went for a Chenin Blanc.
The terrace -hum- is an opp for improvement but you can enjoy a vista over a bay, ferries traffic, snowed mountains and even the impossing Mt. Rainier towering among the buildings.
All in all... I'd repeat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maximilien Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Maximilien Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maximilien Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.