We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canlis Restaurant

Canlis Restaurant
2576 Aurora Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-2206 (Magnolia / Queen Anne)
206.283.3313
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Canlis Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 3,099 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $85 - $125
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Magnolia / Queen Anne
Cross street: Haliday
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband & I wanted a romantic way to end our two week vacation, which started with an Alaskan cruise. Canlis was one of the highlights! We chose the chef's sampler 7-course dinner and were amazed and delighted with every course. The absolute best was the lamb saddle paired with a Hogue red, we both had chills with every bite!!
The service was excellent, the food was absolutely delicious and the view was sublime! This is a must for special occasions in the Seattle area!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    104
    41
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Best of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Admittedly, it was with apprehension I made this reservation knowing that the cost of entry is at minimum $100/person. But, from the moment we arrived, we knew this place was special. This was our first visit and our daughter who drove and was greeted by the valet but offered no claim ticket (they simply remember you). Our hostess was gracious and seated us with a window view overlooking Union Lake. We opted for the four course menu with the Canlis salad shared by the three of us. One might say "eh, it's a salad" - but it's the table-side preparation with a knowledgeable server that makes the experience adding mint, coddled egg, scallions, tomato, etc and tossing gently in a bowl that make the salad come to life with texture and aroma.

The butter sauteed prawns are simple but elegant, plump and delicious. My daughter and I split the glazed duck for two. This dish will forever be in my top 3 all time favorites. From the first bite, the sweetness of the glaze followed by the juicy and flavorful skin of the duck burst through and seriously melt in your mouth. I almost resented every subsequent forkful because I knew I was depleting what was left of this most delicious meal (see picture below).

Dessert capped our evening with literally a finishing touch that didn't take away or seek to over take our meal. It was simply a gentle glide back down to earth from a meal fit for the gods. Like our meal, our desserts were plated beautifully and offered a multitude of flavors unified by a central theme.

Between courses, we were seriously entertained by Mr. Walt Wagner at the piano. I had no idea just who we were listening to until I looked up his extensive background (http://www.waltwagner.com/wwbio.pdf). Actually to say that we were entertained is an understatement. It was more of being mesmerized realizing that he just transition from an old classic or show tune to Blurred Lines by Robin Thicke or Bruno Mars or Macklemore flawlessly.

Lastly, what else can you say about a restaurant that steam presses their tablecloths so that there are no fold lines to catch or inadvertently tip a champagne flute? Or, a restaurant that has your car literally waiting under the canopy when you exit their building?

I say: Well worth the visit and justified in the price of the wonderful meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant with an amazing view. It is a little out of the way if you are staying in downtown Seattle -- you will need to take a cab and be sure to request a cab at least 15 minutes before you are ready to leave or you will have to sit around and wait for a cab at the end of the evening. I have eaten at many, many fixed price "fancy" restaurants before, but for those who have not this will will be a real treat. For those that have, you will find some dishes to be absolutely delicious and others to be just OK. For example, I had a hamachi appetizer which was just OK and a halibut entree that was solid but nothing fantastic. My dining companions had some truly delicious dishes: steak tartare, filet, etc. The house salad that they really hype is nothing special and I would totally skip it. It's good but not better than any other nice salad you have had. Some of the most delicious courses were the amuse bouche they bring you at the beginning and the macaroons at the end. Absolutely delicious. The portion sizes are all pretty generous (this is not one of those "just a bite or two" places). Our service was strangely spotty -- especially when it came to drinks; they brought the wrong drinks with the wrong garnishes. At one point we asked about a tree outside and they said they would bring the owner over to tell us about it and he instead went to talk to the table next to ours. WHATEVER. Overall, it is a lovely restaurant and a very nice dining experience for a special occassion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Doesn't Get any Better than Canlis-Epicurean Fantasy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

What an epicurean fantasy. The food was unbelievable. Great Grand Marnier Souffle. Fixed Pris menu with choices of 3,4,7 or 10 course dining experience. They even offer a vegetarian menu! Complementary hors d'oevres "tasters" from the chef. Fabulous view over Lake Union! Impeccable Service!! A Hidden Gem!
Special features:fit for foodies,romantic,scenic view,notable wine list,special occasion

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“outstanin service and food to celebrate our 40th”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

our children terated us to a night out at this restaurant when carol and I were over in Seattle...as a present to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary

the location is magnificent, the service just outstanding and the food and wine to die for.

you will need to book to secure a table....this is aserious "must go to"

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canlis Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Canlis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canlis Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.