We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of That's Amore! Italian Cafe

That's Amore! Italian Cafe
1425 31st Ave S, Seattle, WA 98144-3909
206-322-3677
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
That's Amore! Italian Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #227 of 3,508 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Atlantic
Transit: Our bus stop is just across the street!
Description: When travelling, often the best restuarants are slightly off the beaten path. We've been named "Hidden Gem" by Seattle Magazine, not just for spectacular Italian Food but a gorgeous view of Downtown Seattle. Chef-owned, our casual little place is just 10 minutes from Downtown (just a quick exit from I-90 onto Rainier Ave S -- careful, the exit comes up FAST from downtown). Free Parking and a really cool Solstice Park (with sunset marker stones) just steps North of our building is the Cherry on top! Welcome!
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a party of six, and were lucky enough to get seated right in front of the picture window that offers a view across the entire city and through to Puget Sound and the Olympic mtns beyond. Service was friendly and prompt, and they offer daily specials that are not on the menu as well. The Ceasar salad can be had with or without anchovies. Others had a grilled pear salad served on a bed of greens which was also very good. My wife ordered the steak special, a pepper crusted steak which was seared nicely, and cooked to her exact liking of temp ( rare ); it was very tender and really flavorful, and was on a bed of their gnocchi with a side of asparagus. I had the grilled eggplant dish, which was a really interesting take on eggplant parm. No breading on the eggplant, which allowed the flavor to shine, with goat cheese and mozarella balancing each other out, topped with a basil pesto on a bed of greens. For a fan of eggplant, every bite made my mouth happy. We had the flourless chocolate dessert, which was really dense with an intense dark chocolate flavor but not too sweet - it would appeal to those who really like dark chocolate, but if you prefer a creamier chocolate taste, maybe not so much. If I lived in Seattle, it would be someplace I would return to often enough to work through the whole menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

This was my first visit to Seattle. Actually used Restsurant.com to gind a place to ea t snd use a coupon. WOW. Great food fair prices. Great view and service. Our family lives only a short distance away but were never there. They will bha e back. Easy to park. Great freshly preparded entrees. Don't miss this little treasure. Reservstion availabk e through open table

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tiny but excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This physically tiny Italian restaurant -- it only has a dozen or so tables -- is huge in every other respect: great wine list, extremely well done menu. Our only complaint, and that's perhaps too strong a word, is that the service can be spotty at times. At our last visit (we eat there at least five or six times a year) there was only a single waiter. He was very friendly and attentive and had an excellent knowledge of both the menu and wine list, but was strung out trying to attend to a packed house. The excellent food is worth the minor annoyance, thought. Our family recommends That's Amore! highly. Be sure to try the Wild Boar Rissotto.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Doesn't get any better!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I'm local to this neighborhood gem, and can't speak highly enough about it. The food is always fantastic, the service is uber friendly, and the view is likely one of the best in all of Seattle. If you want to experience the view, I'd suggest a reservation, asking specifically for a window seat, however you can experience the view from most tables. They have outside seating in the summer, though it is in front of the restaurant where you won't have a view, however, it is quiet and charming. Go forth, and try That's Amore!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

A bit out of the way on 31st Avenue South but easy to park. It has a beautiful view of the city if you are lucky enough to be seated in one of the two tables at the huge windows at the back. The antipasto was outstanding with the usual meat, cheese, olives, and vegetables but included a succulent honey dew and grapes. The wine selection was fair and reasonably priced by the glass. We had the Tuscan sausage which reflected the genuine taste of Tuscany and the sauce was a bit spicy and tasty. The polent was unusually light which we liked. The handmade tortellini were great although the sauce was a bit strong and acidic. The tiramisu was delicious. The service was good and the cost for two with three drinks and tip was $100.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed That's Amore! Italian Cafe also viewed

 

Been to That's Amore! Italian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage That's Amore! Italian Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.