We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for groupon deal” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Al Boccalino

Al Boccalino
1 Yesler Way, Seattle, WA 98104 (Pioneer Square)
(206) 622-7688
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Al Boccalino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,877 of 3,088 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Pioneer Square
Cross street: Western
Transit: We are close to the light rail and the bus stops.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Watch out for groupon deal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I had cooking class through groupon deal. It ended up costing me a lot. First of all, parking is tough and we had to pay. Drink is extra and it seemed like everyone had wine to go with meals. Only one or two people get to cook and we just chatted and watched. We didn't even get a recipe. Cooking was ok, nothing special. Very dissapointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    23
    12
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“R!al Italian food.. delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We came for a four course wine tasting dinner. We allowed the chef to select the courses and what a wonderful surprise! Every course was fantastic! We had a wonderful bruschetta for an appetizer, an eggplant one and also an apple and gorgonzola, both outstanding. Our second course was a boar pasta with hand made orecchiette pasta, this had a bit of a kick to it, yet not overpowering. A perfect delight of fresh pasta and boar and just the right amount of fresh herbs. Could this get any better?? yes.. the main course was a mushroom, pork marsala with fresh asparagus. Heaven! Cooked to perfection and the sauce was to die for. And yes.. dessert.. a fine chocolate ganache. Usually chocolate is not one of my favorite desserts, yet this was nice dark chocolate, with fresh strawberries, topped with a bit of cream! Everything was delightful and we cannot wait to come back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“soccer trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Busy Saturday night. Service was slow but made more time to talk. Food was good, nice selection of wine. Staff was friendly. Price was reasonable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This place had the feel of an old italian restaurant. The food was terrific. The service could have been better, but we were not in a hurry.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian food and atmosphere...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Al Boccalino is a wonderful Italian restaurant tucked into the last building on Yesler Street down near the water. It is small so a reservation is suggested. We first enjoyed the food of Luigi DeNunzio nearly 15 years ago and have always remembered that experience. During a recent visit to Seattle we were pleased to find that he (and the family) was still running this “find” for Italian fare. The wines are Italian…we had a very acceptable 1998 Sangiovese for $35! The Bruschetta was excellent, while not traditional. The Pear Salad is an excellent choice. We enjoyed Gnocchi with an excellent Wild Boar sauce…spiced perfectly. The staff was very pleasant to deal with and offered excellent options of other fine food family restaurants in the area. They know what they offer in quality and welcoming service and are not afraid to make good referrals to other “non-tourist” restaurants in the area. We decided to try one of their other restaurants, Café Bengodi, the next night (two blocks up the street). While funky and definitely a local corner Italian treat, Café Bengodi was also a wonderful experience. Try them both…

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Boccalino also viewed

 

Been to Al Boccalino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Boccalino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.