We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Delfino's Chicago Style Pizzeria

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Delfino's Chicago Style Pizzeria
2675 NE University Vlg, Seattle, WA 98105
(206) 522-3466
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #926 of 3,089 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
377 reviews 377 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Lured in by single slices of pizza, once seated we were told that we couldn't get single slices of pizza after 2:00. So we both had tortellini. The worst ever. The meatballs we added were bad as well. The plain bread was the best food we had and that wasn't special at all. And then the price was sky high! The server was a sweetheart however, but not enough of a reason to ever return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    3
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shoreline, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Deep Dish Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I started my long friendship with Delfino's in 1995, and have been eating there ever since. I have said numerous times that this is a place you go for the food not always the service, and while the service has improved over the years the pizza is just as exceptional today as it was 19 years ago!


The crust is amazing the sausage is incredible and if you have not had the stuffed spinach pizza you have not lived! It sounds ridiculous to say and even more so to write but it was the first pie I had and while I usually do sausage, pepperoni and black olive; every time someone new comes to visit I introduce them to SSP and have not had a single complaint yet.


If you are looking for Giordano's then travel 1900 miles and eat there, if however if you want incredible deep dish pizza in Seattle, this is by far one of the best.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Quick pizza, could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in here on a Friday night because every other restaurant was packed, and now I know why. The pizza choices were standard but the thin crust pizza was more like a cracker. Lots of young wait staff but still slow. Not like likely to repeat.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great deep dish Chicago style pizza.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great pizza!! We had the Delfino's Deluxe (sausage, pepperoni, mixed peppers, and black olives) and CBR (Chicago chicken-bacon-ranch) and both were tasty, loaded with toppings, and filling. I've never been to Chicago but this pizza makes me want to go there to try the real thing! We were there on a Sunday night about an hour before closing and the place wasn't busy at all, so we had no trouble finding a table for six.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Still great after all these years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you are looking for a place with consistent high quality food, this is the place for you. We first went to Delfino's when we were moving our youngest son into his dorm at UW. That was in 1996. We have been back off and on over the years as opportunities presented themselves. Just recently went back with that same "youngest" son and had a delightful lunch. I had the meatball sandwich and it was probably the best I have ever had. So fresh tasting. Youngest son had their special pizza of the day, by the slice and ended up getting two pieces, it was so good. They are known for their deep dish pies which are wonderful.. It does take time to prepare the pizza, but they let you know that right up front. Depending on the type, it can take up to 30 minutes...great time for conversation and chillin'!! The dilemma now is do we go to Delfino's or Elemental (another good pizza place in U Village). It just depends on the style of pizza your taste buds desire at the moment! I would put the ambience at Delfino's above that of Elemental. A little more quiet and not so much hustle and bustle. Either way, have fun and enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delfino's Chicago Style Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Delfino's Chicago Style Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delfino's Chicago Style Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.