We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza Going in Seattle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northlake Tavern & Pizza House

Northlake Tavern & Pizza House
660 NE Northlake Way, Seattle, WA 98105-6428 (University District)
206-633-5317
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #556 of 3,094 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Neighborhood: University District
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“Best Pizza Going in Seattle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I've had lots of pizza from lots of places, the pizzas are huge and have lots of toppings.
Don't be intimidated by the price, you get what you pay for, superb quality and quantity.
The place gets busy very quickly, and the reviews from WSJ, Zagat, all do it justice.
Call ahead or dine In, the pizza is amazing either way. Being a tavern it is 21 and older, but you can pick up, or even get take and bake. The artwork on the walls is fun and funky. This is a must go place. I will be back

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Wa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“As great as everyone says it is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Don't expect fancy, and it may be busy, but man.....the pizza is really good. Good beer selection as well. I ate leftovers for two days.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Washington
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Pizza with Pizzazz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Frequented by University of Washington professors, employees and grad students because of its proximity and acclaimed by the Wall Street Journal and Zagat's, I visited this renowned Seattle pizza favorite last night for the first time.

At the entrance you'll see you have to be 21 to enter because it's a tavern. We both more than qualified. Then we encountered history from its original opening in 1954 by Herb Freeman and the Husky to funky atmosphere including red and white checkered tablecloths. The big screen TV featured a ball game. My friend visited here often in the 1960's and said it hadn't changed much.

But let's get down to the real reason we came: PIZZA! I wanted to order my usual Hawaiian but they had a spin-off called the Maui adding mushrooms and green pepper that sounded good. The server recommended we order a "small" 10 inch pie, saying it would be plenty. Plenty it was! The menu says "small" is 2 1/2 pounds for $20.10. I was amazed at the quality and quantity of the ingredients. Fresh delicious Canadian bacon, pineapple, mushrooms and green pepper over loads of mozzarella cheese. YUM! My friend had a blanket of large precisely layered sliced red ripe tomatoes covering his vegetarian side of our "small" pizza. Here's what's unusual: the crust. It's like a crispy cracker and dry inside. It's not that I disliked it, but it was different from any crust I've ever had. I can't say I preferred to others either.

When leaving, my friend inquired about Northlake's history so the friendly general manager Abdullah left the kitchen to talk with us. He'd worked here for years and enthusiastically told us more details of the original owner, whose wife is still living and in her nineties. It's good to know that after all these years the Northlake Tavern & Pizza House is still going strong and we recommend strongly you pay a visit to eat in or order a pick up ready in 30 minutes. No delivery...but they certainly deliver memorable pizza.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply the Best Pizza in Seattle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The New York Times was quoted stating that "The Northlake Tavern and Pizza House has the best pizza on the planet." After visiting there this past weekend prior to the Husky game, my wife and I know why. Simply excellent. A little more than what you'd expect to pay for a small combination ($22 +/-) but after we bit into the salty goodness that was toppings all the way to the edge in stead of stopping short like most pizza places, we were in awe. The small was enough for the two of us for dinner and a hearty lunch of leftovers the next day. Do yourself a favor, the Northlake Tavern is worth the trip. We loved it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Unique Pies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Pizza is very good. It's like deep dish with less crust. There is no crust toppings go all the way. A small 3 topping was $21. I thought it was a little high but when it arrived to the table holy cow was it big. It became lunch and dinner. Great taste great ingredients. It's been there for ever they must be doing something right. Please note you must be 21 to go in. So not for the kids and only because of the law. I would take my kids there. Very nice atmosphere. However you can do carry out.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northlake Tavern & Pizza House also viewed

 

Been to Northlake Tavern & Pizza House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northlake Tavern & Pizza House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.