We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was completely full on a Wednesday night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kisaku

Kisaku
2101 N 55th St, Ste 100, Seattle, WA 98103-6264 (Lake Union)
206-545-9050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kisaku is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #465 of 3,491 Restaurants in Seattle
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Lake Union
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“It was completely full on a Wednesday night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

When in a new city, I usually judge a restaurant by how full the place is. Chances are, if you are visiting Seattle, you will not randomly walk by this resto as it is in the middle of a residential neighborhood. If you happen to stroll by, you may wish you had made a reservation, as it was completely full on a weekday!

My significant other and I shared a black cod appetizer, a unaju (eel) dinner and a sashimi combo. The black cod is marinated in sake and has a lovely buttery taste. The unaju was as delicious as what I've had in Japan and I would happily come back for more. The price is decent for the quality of food served. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington state
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My brother's favorite sushi restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I am not a sushi connoiseur, but am told that this joint has the best in town. And Seattle is a foodie community. I have eaten here twice, both times with pleasure.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bad hair day at Kisaku”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Well, first off there was a hair in the California roll. That's a real bummer to get over. The sashimi was hard and not fresh at all. The spider roll was tasteless with too much batter and overly fried. The miso soup was average. The atmosphere is light and pleasant. For the price, there are better options in north Seattle.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious Sushi, Dependable Quality and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Tangletown is an often unknown area - even to Seattle residents. Close to Greenlake, it seems an unlikely spot for some of the best sushi in Seattle, yet, Kisaku delivers just that.
If you are looking for trendy, fusion offerings this is not your place. That said, the fish and various other seafood offerings are always magnificently fresh and impeccably presented.
In addition to sushi and sashimi, I have ordered the geoduck sautee and the tempura soft shell crab. The geoduck was fantastic - as good as any I've had. The soft shell crab was, unfortunately, as much tempura coating as it was crab.
More modern than intimate, the setting is meticulousy clean and inviting with a low noise level that is conversation friendly. The wait staff is always efficient yet low-key.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Seattle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Have eaten here many times and the sushi is always outstanding.The service is friendly and professional and the fish is fresh and delicious.Great sake selection as well.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kisaku also viewed

 

Been to Kisaku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kisaku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.