We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Too Cold To Enjoy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Frolik Kitchen + Cocktails

Frolik Kitchen + Cocktails
1415 5th Avenue, Motif Seattle, Seattle, WA 98101
+1 206-971-8015
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #705 of 3,429 restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Frolik Kitchen + Cocktails is a true social experience, featuring a space to encounter innovation and creativity with a playful twist. Exposing Seattle to a fresh new way to mingle, socialize and amuse the senses, Frolik offers personalized service in a setting that emphasizes the beauty and diversity of downtown Seattle. A vibrant design - complemented by flexible dining options, a spacious outdoor patio, fireplaces, shuffleboard and more - creates an edgy yet stylish environment that awakens the youthful spirit and releases the mischievous side in all of us. Offering breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, Frolik shakes up the traditional approach to Regional American food by adding a signature Northwest Pacific flair to every dish. Complementing Frolik's flavorful menu is an extensive list of local beer, wine and handcrafted cocktails.
Tacoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Room Too Cold To Enjoy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The outside temperature in Seattle on Thursday, February 6, 2014 was just below freezing with a stiff cold wind. The restuarant (on the 5th floor of the Red Lion Inn) has many, many windows which adds to the wonderful experience, except for one factor. It was darn cold. We needed a sweater, a warm coat and a warm hat to stay comfortable. The waitress told us the cold temperature was because of all the windows, but we believe the construction in the lobby had something to do with the entire hotel hallways and restuarants being cold.

The breakfast selections were excellent. Perhaps a couple of dollars above your mom and pop breakfast places, but the open, spacious surroundings were definitely outstanding, just freezing cold. I look forward to warmer weather when breakfasts can once again be enjoyed outside on the patio overlooking 4th Avenue in Seattle.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    9
    19
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great service and food! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We ate here twice and found that the food was great and the service even better. Highly recommend the fried octopus and the seafood bouillabaisse

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Decent food, cool vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The waitress (Allison) really knew her stuff, the menu and dishes inside out and service was very good. The happy hour specials are quite reasonable. My friend and I were on the travelzoo voucher and it was a good deal even though the cod was not available.

The outdoor patio looked great, but it was a cold and rainy night, another time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Cool summer hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

All I can do is rate the drinks here as we didn't have any food. We came here on a Thursday afternoon for happy hour and it was a beautiful spot to be at. The outdoor deck is pretty cool and the inside area had a nice design, but I can see this place looking dated in just a few years.

The service was mediocre at best. He didn't come by all that often but when he did, he would come by in really compact times - like 3 times in 5 minutes. Then, he would disappear for another 20. It was also a bit weird that they let the employees wear anything they wanted. They were all under dressed for the crowd that there at the time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Still amazing in the winter!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed at the Red Lion on 5th for a few days while on our Thanksgiving Holiday. We went to Frolik about three times during our 2 night stay. We enjoyed the outdoor patio area with the huge fireplace, couches and hammocks. It was rather chilly but the fireplace and heat lamps kept us very warm. They have Happy Hour there nightly so that was also a plus!:-) But the views and atmosphere of Frolik is what makes it special!

We had the breakfast buffet there on Saturday morning and the selection was okay! We loved the casual seating arrangement with swivel chairs and private couches while eating. We could also see the people outside playing shuffleboard and enjoying as well.

There is also a Cafe that serves to-go items such as coffee, tea, sandwiches and bagels which is also a plus if you need a meal or drink on the go!

Great place to chill with family and friends especially for Happy Hour.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frolik Kitchen + Cocktails also viewed

 

Been to Frolik Kitchen + Cocktails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frolik Kitchen + Cocktails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.